Alarm Clock Enable (SS 4.3)

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by sixpackcuda, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. sixpackcuda
    Offline

    sixpackcuda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Just installed 4.3 and I'm not sure what I've done, but..

    I prefer to use the default alarm clock; so I went to the terminal emulator to enable it using "mvac" and I get this:

    Code:
    Enabling Alarm Clock ...
    Error: Can't Enable Alarm Clock ... you must have deleted it!
    All I've done is install the ss rom, then the patch, then I ran "rstapps -c" and apparently somewhere in there, the alarm clock got deleted :huh:

    Is there anything I can do about this?
  2. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried going through the "clock" app and set alarms?
  3. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Uglymouse
    Offline

    Uglymouse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia

    How do I push this to /system/app. It is a zip file. Do I change it to update.zip and run it like I do any other update.zip?
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you downloading from your phone? Cause the file on my server is an apk ... you can not run this as an update.zip. If it downloads as zip, rename it to apk, and then using some sort of file explorer, push to /system/app. Or if downloaded to your PC, use 'adb push AlarmClock.apk /system/app'
  6. Uglymouse
    Offline

    Uglymouse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia

    Thanks! You Rock!
  7. sixpackcuda
    Offline

    sixpackcuda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thank you! Hah, yeah, well you're probably not wrong in thinking that no one uses this anymore. I'm probably one of the last few that do.
  8. sixpackcuda
    Offline

    sixpackcuda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Alright, I'm kind of a bonehead when it comes to this stuff..

    Is it possible to use the terminal emulator to push this? When I try that, I get "push: not found"

    I also tried using the Linda File Manager to try and copy the apk file to system/app but it says that that folder is read only.

    So I gave it a shot, but not sure what to do at this point.
  9. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    'push' is to be used with adb; which is a DIFFERENT interface to a shell ... if you are already in a term emulator, you need to have already 'pushed' the apk to somewhere on your phone, ie /sdcard

    To copy to /system/app, you need to make it readable. So, in your term emulator, type sysrw, and return. Then go back to Linda and see if it will let you copy.
  10. dr0idg0d23
    Offline

    dr0idg0d23 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Being that within the .zip file its in .apk format, can you not download it from browser in phone and then using androzip, extract the .apk file then select it and install.
  11. sixpackcuda
    Offline

    sixpackcuda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I forgot to mention that I had tried that. For some reason it said that it couldn't install.

    But I was able to get it to work! Thank you Chevy

    I forgot to also mention previously that I had downloaded the file in-phone. So it was sitting in my download directory. Linda wasn't happy with anything I was trying to do, regardless of what commands I executed in terminal.

    So this is what I did:
    su
    sysrw
    cp /mnt/sdcard/download/AlarmClock.apk /system/app


    and it worked great! Thanks! It's nice to have this back. I've just gotten so accustomed to using it..
  12. Fault
    Offline

    Fault New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea chevy, I use weather widgets, and it has built in alarm support

    Edit: how do I get it installed now?
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010