AKO Email Problems?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by IceCold357, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. IceCold357
    Offline

    IceCold357 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I am really getting frustrated that I am not able to check my AKO (Army Email) on my Droid. I have tried all settings when setting it up and I am just having no luck. With my iPhone I was just able to put in my username and password and it started right up. Does anyone have any ideas what the problem is with this. Is the Motorola Droid just not able to check AKO Email? If that's the case does anyone know if there is a fix coming for this? And yes I have searched the forum and still coming up with no answer. I have had my Droid for about a week and this is really the only issue that I have with the the phone. Any help would be great!
     
  2. joshua117
    Offline

    joshua117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'll try to help. ok i think these are the correct settings:

    imap.us.army.mil
    993
    ssl, all certs

    mailrouter.us.army.mil
    465
    ssl, all certs
    sign required

    and on user name leave off the @us.army.mil

    hope that helps
     
  3. IceCold357
    Offline

    IceCold357 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still nothing. I can't get past the 2nd screen where it says

    Username

    Password

    IMap Server

    Port

    Security Type

    IMAP path prefix
    (optional)



    I don't even see anything about the mail router
     
  4. IceCold357
    Offline

    IceCold357 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I finally got it. I wasn't adding the IMAP onto the us.army.mil

    Thanks a bunch man! You are a lifesaver. Now my Droid is complete!:icon_ banana:
     
  5. mmedic
    Offline

    mmedic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have all the settings as noted. I get an error telling me I am using the wrong user name and password. I tried the same info on the acual AKO page and it works. Please help
     
  6. Papito07
    Offline

    Papito07 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    AKO Webmail...DROID

    If you haven't got it done already, here goes:

    1. Launch the Mail App
    2. Select Add Account
    3. Select Manual setup
    4. Enter the IMAP SERVER information (incoming: imap.us.army.mil)
    5. Select SSL from the security drop down menu
    * The port number will be assigned automatically and ACCEPT or CONTINUE when asked
    6. Enter the STMP information (outgoing: mailrouter.us.army.mil)
    7. Select SSL from the security dropdown menu
    * The port number will be assigned automatically and ACCEPT or CONTINUE when asked
    8. Click Finished

    Good Luck...it works like a charm!
     
  7. briancut1
    Offline

    briancut1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank You!
    Thank You!
    Thank You!

    Worked finally.
     
  8. droidxtreme
    Offline

    droidxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid Incredible having AKO email issue

    When I try to set up the setting, which I have correct as I have triple checked, the screen from incoming email where I click next says its going to server but then it just stays on the incoming screen instead of continueing the setup to the outgoing email server.

    What gives?

    I have to get my AKO email, but I love this little phone. Can anyone help?!@
     
  9. justice340
    Offline

    justice340 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's Incredible right?

    Sorry guy I have the incredible too and it doesn't seem to work either.
     
  10. droidxtreme
    Offline

    droidxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like the free K-9 app fixes it. Another guy on a board says its not as secure as the HTC program but when HTC program doesn't pull any emails at all that makes it 100% secure, even from me lol so I like the K-9 app and happy droid apps are free of bureaucracy for most part
     
  11. bh8690
    Offline

    bh8690 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    AKO and Android

    I live in the New York area...from day one of having Motorola Droid, the phone could not connect to AKO (settings confirmed); communication error. Strangely, when I was down in South Carolina recently, AKO miraculously worked (flawlessly). Returned through Chicago, and AKO no longer works.

    Verizon what gives? Come clean. Marginal 3G coverage in these metro areas?....are we being misled?

    I have done the science experiment...AKO works, settings are correct; Do we all have to move to South Carolina?
     
  12. Fire4EffectK
    Offline

    Fire4EffectK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!
     
  13. soldiee19d
    Offline

    soldiee19d New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks IceCold i had it workin on my droid1 but never could figure out to leave @us.army.mill off for it to work on my droid2
     
  14. craig.agrona
    Offline

    craig.agrona New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke, Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to let everyone know about putting AKO on their mobile device without consent or enterprise resources. When you put your UN and PW on the server for your email, it goes onto the carriers servers ( a huge security issue for Army) Cyber division randomly audits AKO accounts and will disable your ability to get your mail on your phone. They got me once already, just a heads up. I suffered no adverse actions for this, and then put it back on my phone anyway. But be aware, AKO might get fed up and produce new policy and enforce it with USMJ.
     
  15. craig.agrona
    Offline

    craig.agrona New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke, Va
    Ratings:
    +0

    sorry, UCMJ, i fat fingered it
     
Similar Threads
  1. Dirtyred
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    6,556
  2. crossfire
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  3. ohsnapitskli
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,176
  4. nemisis9
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,448
  5. bclinsure
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,343
Loading...
Search tags for this page
add my ako account to my android
,
ako email issues
,

ako email problems

,
ako imap path prefix
,
ako webmail problems
,
anybody have problem checking ako email
,
cant get to my ako email
,
info ajko.com.pl
,
mail aveko com
,
problems with ako on android