Adw

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Vulcan1600, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +289
    I decided to install ADW on my TB last night and so far having good results. What I missed mostly since getting the new phone was the ability to place custom shortcuts at the bottom of the screen. It is sure nice to have it back.

    Just curious if anyone else has been using a Home replacement like ADW and how you're liking it.
     
  2. lettuce chief

    lettuce chief Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is ADW
     
    #2 lettuce chief, Mar 24, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 24, 2011
  3. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^A homescreen or launcher replacement.
     
  4. Jumper2501

    Jumper2501 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just curious...are you still having success with ADW? I used the paid version for a few months on my non-rooted D1, but was having stability issues (too many FC's). There are things I like about Sense, but I'm wondering if ADW's worth another shot.
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  6. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +289
    It's working flawlessly. I can't use the HTC clock though. Other than that, no problem or FC's at all.
     
  7. AlexSB

    AlexSB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have a paid version of ADW I'm gonna download soon again but for right now I'm enjoying some stock feel of the Thunderbolt, this being my first HTC phone.

    Sweeter home is nice but I haven't used it since maybe November? When I was on my D2

    This thread has been struck by THUNDER...lightning?
     
  8. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I had launcher pro but with sense I prefer not to use it. I actually like the stock htc screen better
     
  9. lockman

    lockman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been going back and forth whether to install ADW, but since you started this thread, I'm going to. I really miss the dock at the bottom.
     
  10. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +289
    Lockman - I struggled with my decision too, but in the end it came down to the fact I missed not having my 4 custom shortcuts at the bottom. I'm curious what you think once you start using ADW again. One thing I miss not being rooted is the fact Titanium Backup always kept backups of my settings, even though ADW has it's own save features. I always relied on Titanium Backup for my programs.
     
  11. kook

    kook Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using the stock Sense since using the Thunderbolt. I haven't missed either ADW nor LP.
     
  12. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +61
    I went back to adw about 3 days ago. Old habits die hard. I like sense but I am hoping not using it will save some battery.

    The only thing I really miss is the Sense Clock and weather widget.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk