ADW keeps restarting

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by senate9690, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. senate9690
    Offline

    senate9690 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Since updating to 5.0 ADW keeps restarting after I use another app. For example I open browser go to a website once done I hit the home button to go back to desktop and the icons are all gone and takes a min or two to come back. Any ideas anyone?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. dkscudder
    Offline

    dkscudder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was having the same problem. I would open something as simple as the phone settings for 20 seconds and ADW would have to restart.

    I turned off compcache and ran the following at the command line:
    Code:
    su
    echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop
    reboot
    This locks the home screen into memory and reboots the phone.

    My redraw / restarts have almost completely disappeared.

    Chevy, if you happen to see this, I'd vote to have that turned into a check box in the settings.
  3. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i can 100% guarantee that compcache was not the culprit. gingerbread kills tasks like no other os we have had. the keep in home code will help, but most important is removing any launcher your not using. So if your using adw make sure to delete launcher 2
    oh, and check to see if the launcher is installed on the phone or sd card
  4. Fleury14
    Offline

    Fleury14 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also raise the vm heap size and reboot.
  5. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is iffy vm heap allows more memory to be devoted to apps that use a lot of memory, which takes memory away from other programs that may need it. on my phone(and this is phone specific as each phone is running different stuff) the stock values work best 24 i think it is
  6. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the fix - mistakenly was missed in this build ...
  7. thegift_curse
    Offline

    thegift_curse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    If you're using launcherpro will this fix the problem as well?
  8. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is this setting permanent or have to be entered after a certain amount of time?
  9. stark23x
    Offline

    stark23x New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It did for me. I went back to 4.9.6 anyway, but this was the fix to stop 5.0 from redrawing all the time in ADW and LP
  10. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no go for me after reboot this trick worked for 15 minutes and as of now I get redraws after exiting any app. Maybe this command did not stick?
  11. thegift_curse
    Offline

    thegift_curse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Hmmm I don't know, going on 2 hours and its been working perfect for me. Haven't had a redraw yet and it would normally do it even after exiting the settings app. Did you disable compcache?
  12. dkscudder
    Offline

    dkscudder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The command is perminent and will work with whatever launcher you are using.

    It is possible that you aren't experiencing redraws at all. I use ADW EX and I've noticed that it is crashing on occasion. I'll push the home button and instantly see my launcher. Half a second later it closes and restartart. My redraw problems in the past haven't looked this way. Because it doesn't happen all the time I've been to lazy to go digging around in logs to look for the root cause.

    If it is a crash and not a redraw, your ADW is having trouble or you have a widget that is missbehaving. I'd clear the cache for ADW, uninstall, reinstall and then start adding your widgets back and test for while after you add each one. I know that is time consuming, but it should get you an answer.
  13. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No compcache here... yea I use adw ex and I heard there is issues with the latest release. When I exit apps it goes to my home screen with no apps or app drawer then everything refreshes after 15 seconds. I will mess around either way this rom is so sick I will tough it through till next update.

    Thanks

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page
adw launcher ex icons keep resetting
,
adw launcher ex keeps crashing
,

adw launcher keeps restarting

,
adw restart
,
adw screen conatantly resetting
,
adw update resarting
,
adw.launcher constant crashes
,
android adw caused phone to crash restart
,
clearing adw cache
,
samsung galaxy s4 using adw launcher keeps restarting