Adobe Warns of Security Issues With Flash Player 10.3 for Smartphones

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813
    Likes Received:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    [​IMG]

    According to Adobe, smartphone users need to make sure to update their Flash player to the newest version, 10.3.185.23, because the previous version of 10.3 has a security flaw. The vulnerability allows a malicious software site to send you a fake email designed to trick you into clicking on a malicious link and further infecting your phone. Adobe's latest version fixes the problem, but it seems as if these security flaws with Flash are coming more frequently.

    Source: PhoneArena
     
  2. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Really???? Why does Mr. Jobs always have to be right?
     
  3. peterjariel

    peterjariel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mr. Jobs is probably the one doing this!!!
     
  4. cdguylhs

    cdguylhs Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you update flash on a droid x? i have flash 10.1.106.17
     
  5. reposter432

    reposter432 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It isn't listed in my apps, so I just went to the Market and it has "Update" if you already have it installed.
     
  6. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dammitt Adobe, remind me again why we need Flash on our Android phones with daily security issues.
     
  7. Masamichi7

    Masamichi7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For one, to update, go to Market, hit the menu button on the phone, press My Apps, and it will automatically check for updates.
    Two, Flash is optional, and you can also disable using Flash plugins from the browser, so you really don't have to use it at all.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  8. Masamichi7

    Masamichi7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And on a side note, Adobe already patched the security issue way earlier today.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  9. DroidMastar2

    DroidMastar2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    JERSEY
    Ratings:
    +1

    It's not the point that it's already been patched... it's the fact that it needed to be patched again due to security issues... Like i said in another post about flash... it's unstable. and was never really a selling point for me when Tablet shopping.
     
  10. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Ratings:
    +16
    So don't go to sketchy flash websites and don't click links in emails from people you don't know... it's really not that difficult to have some common sense, people xD.
     
  11. Natey2

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    I could have sworn I had something newer than 10.1 before my OTA GB update. Did GB downgrade my Flash version back to 10.1?

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Adobe is ver vulnerable to attacks and that's exactly why Steve Jobs says no for the phones and iPad. iMac it is available.

    They will issue a fix again. I'm not worried about it. they always update flash.
     
  13. Natey2

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    Uhmm... Jobs is behind QuickTime, not Flash. Nothing to do with technology vulnerability, IMO.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
     
  14. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1. Vulnerability has nothing to do with his decision.
     
  15. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    How you can say that so empirically?

    I didn't think QuickTime was that big of a player in online media.... Just media already on the device?
    From everything I've read, he is backing HTML5 vs Flash on this one, not QT.
     
Search tags for this page

adobe flash player for droid charge