1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Adobe Warns of Security Issues With Flash Player 10.3 for Smartphones

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,876
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    According to Adobe, smartphone users need to make sure to update their Flash player to the newest version, 10.3.185.23, because the previous version of 10.3 has a security flaw. The vulnerability allows a malicious software site to send you a fake email designed to trick you into clicking on a malicious link and further infecting your phone. Adobe's latest version fixes the problem, but it seems as if these security flaws with Flash are coming more frequently.

    Source: PhoneArena
  2. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Really???? Why does Mr. Jobs always have to be right?
  3. peterjariel
    Offline

    peterjariel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mr. Jobs is probably the one doing this!!!
  4. cdguylhs
    Offline

    cdguylhs New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do you update flash on a droid x? i have flash 10.1.106.17
  5. reposter432
    Offline

    reposter432 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It isn't listed in my apps, so I just went to the Market and it has "Update" if you already have it installed.
  6. google123
    Offline

    google123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dammitt Adobe, remind me again why we need Flash on our Android phones with daily security issues.
  7. Masamichi7
    Offline

    Masamichi7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For one, to update, go to Market, hit the menu button on the phone, press My Apps, and it will automatically check for updates.
    Two, Flash is optional, and you can also disable using Flash plugins from the browser, so you really don't have to use it at all.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  8. Masamichi7
    Offline

    Masamichi7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And on a side note, Adobe already patched the security issue way earlier today.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  9. DroidMastar2
    Offline

    DroidMastar2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    JERSEY

    It's not the point that it's already been patched... it's the fact that it needed to be patched again due to security issues... Like i said in another post about flash... it's unstable. and was never really a selling point for me when Tablet shopping.
  10. RyanPm40
    Offline

    RyanPm40 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So don't go to sketchy flash websites and don't click links in emails from people you don't know... it's really not that difficult to have some common sense, people xD.
  11. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I could have sworn I had something newer than 10.1 before my OTA GB update. Did GB downgrade my Flash version back to 10.1?

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Adobe is ver vulnerable to attacks and that's exactly why Steve Jobs says no for the phones and iPad. iMac it is available.

    They will issue a fix again. I'm not worried about it. they always update flash.
  13. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Uhmm... Jobs is behind QuickTime, not Flash. Nothing to do with technology vulnerability, IMO.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1. Vulnerability has nothing to do with his decision.
  15. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    How you can say that so empirically?

    I didn't think QuickTime was that big of a player in online media.... Just media already on the device?
    From everything I've read, he is backing HTML5 vs Flash on this one, not QT.
  16. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure it does, along with a ton of other things. Jobs has already stated his reasons:

    Steve Jobs' letter explaining Apple's Flash distaste | Deep Tech - CNET News
  17. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    JavaScript?! And Macs crash because of Flash? I don't recall my Windows XP ever crashing because of Flash. Maybe Microsoft knows how to handle plugin-related errors better than Apple :^)

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
  18. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not saying I agree with what he's saying, just pointing out that you said "nothing to do with technology vulnerability" when that is one of the reasons he didn't do it...Flash is garbage. We can deny it all we want, but its true. Full of exploits, laggy and it crashes plenty on Windows. I have more success with running Flash on Linux then I do with windows.

    Now on the flip side when iPhans say "I don't use flash anyway so I don't care" that's BS too. It's called cognitive dissonance and both sides practice it quite nicely (although one side does it far more, and it's not the Apple side haha). if flash did exist on iPhone, iPhans would be happy, so trying to act like they don't care is idiotic too.

    Regardless of that, again though, Flash is crappy. I agree with Jobs that it would only make the iPhone worse not better (IMO it certainly didn't make my Android experience better and obviously I'm not the only one who thinks that).
  19. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    I'm one of the people that thought "Flash would be awesome!!!" and waited for a while for D1 to get Froyo... Then I got flash and figured out, "my internet was better without all these damn banner ads anyway!!!".

    It's cool to have the "full internet" to show off, but basically that's all it is... It gives no practical benefit, and opens security holes. I'd rather not have it and use the other pointless "show off" app... Google Earth.
  20. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Netflix on my DX is so beautiful I almost cried :)
    I believe it uses Flash. I've watched more than 2 full-length movies with no problems. So what problems are people having with Flash on Android?

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
Search tags for this page

adobe flash player for droid charge