Adding ringtones and notifications

Discussion in 'Samsung Droid Charge' started by socalkoirichard, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. socalkoirichard

    socalkoirichard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you add notification and ringtones that you have made. I know on my droid 1 I had to make a file and transfer via the usb but not sure if that would work with the Charge. I hooked it up once and went through all the file folders and didn't see any of the ringtones that come on the phone so not sure where to add new ones.

    Richard D.
     
  2. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use ringo pro app(free from market) I have the tones in the system ringtone and notification folders. Then again, I am using the TB so not sure if that'll work for you.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  3. socalkoirichard

    socalkoirichard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for.the reply, but I'm not looking for ringtones I have many I made myself I want to load.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  4. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I understand, ringo allows you to use your own ringtones to assign sms and contact ringtones as well as system tones//
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
  5. socalkoirichard

    socalkoirichard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can assign any ringtone to what ever I want, once again I am wanting to transfer what I have on my computer to the phone so I can use them instead of getting toned from other apps that are not like the ones I created.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  6. socalkoirichard

    socalkoirichard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also this is on my Charge the folder setup is different than my droid 1, which I easily was able to do this with ease.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  7. Droid101

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +0
    It should be the same way as you did on your OG Droid. As long as the file is in the correct format the phone will read it on your SD
     
  8. socalkoirichard

    socalkoirichard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I just wasn't sure if it would work so i didn't want to try and mess up the phone. I'll give it a try then

    Sent from my SCH-I510
     
  9. hifall

    hifall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ringtones stopped working

    I have a Droid X and just updated to Android 2.3.3 My ringtones which were in .midi and .mp3 format on Froyo and worked fine have all stopped working on GB.

    What is the correct format for ringtones on GB and what folder do they belong in?
     
  10. lonndoggie

    lonndoggie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a couple of ringtones on my OG Droid that I moved over to the SD card on the Charge. I made one the phone ringtone, and all was well.

    However...

    Twice now, it's stopped working. The phone is completely silent when this happens; you only know its ringing because the screen lights up and shows you're getting a call.

    When this happened the second time, I navigated down to the ringtones folder and tried playing the file. It wouldn't play! Same with all .mp3 files on the SD card.

    A reboot has fixed the problem.

    WTF?

    (btw, my old Droid was running GB (CM7) and played my mp3 ringtones fine)
     
  11. wdw4mealso

    wdw4mealso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every time I put the phone to silent, it does something to my pre-assigned ringtones. After turning the sound on, they too stay silent. Yesterday though, it worked, so I wonder if the update fixed it.
     
  12. bradleonard

    bradleonard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  13. wdw4mealso

    wdw4mealso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    brad- I tried the ringdroid, and thought it worked, but once again the ringtones stopped working thru that too. I have tried zedge, and various ways of putting them into the music files, and they still randomly stop working.
     
  14. gadgetry

    gadgetry New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So the update didn't fix it?!
     
  15. wdw4mealso

    wdw4mealso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It did not. However just yesterday someone suggested deleting Twitter, and so far that has worked.
     
Search tags for this page
creating ringtones for sch 1510
,
droid 2.3.3 how do i assign an individual contact a text not
,
droid x2 prepaid no sd card add ringtones
,

extract ringtones from samaung model sch-i510

,
how do i change the ringtone on my droid charge
,

how to set individual ringtones on samsung sch i510 phone

,
looking for old phone ringtone for samsung charge
,
ringo pro stop working
,
samsung charge assign custom ringtone
,

samsung i510 add new ringtone