adding quoted text to a sentence. what gives?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by dep, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. dep
    Offline

    dep New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps the most frustrating experience
    With my droid pro is putting quotes around
    Something. If you are typing then press
    The space bar, then the quote character,
    it removes the space and adds the quote
    to the previous word. I have to insert the cursor
    and manually re-add the space. Pretty
    frustrating!
  2. dep
    Offline

    dep New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a workaround is to always use single quotes instead
    Of double quotes. odd that the behavior doesn't
    Happen with apostrophes.
  3. pilotrose
    Offline

    pilotrose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I share your frustration. I wonder why they elected to do this... Maybe it's an error...
  4. jwgraves
    Offline

    jwgraves New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there are lots of special characters the droid does this to - the dollar sign being the one that drives me the most crazy. I have no idea why the droid developers came up with this idea, I hate it.
  5. ravenhawk
    Offline

    ravenhawk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both the quotes and dollar sign have been really bugging me with this too. Why? What was the thought process here?
  6. DroidToro
    Offline

    DroidToro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chalk it up as one more reason why rooting and cooking ROMs is important work. I guarantee you that moto will not fix this. I hope we get a good, usable ROM soon.

    Sent from my DROID PRO
  7. AXOX
    Offline

    AXOX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also hate this feature. :icon_ banana:
  8. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    A temporary workaround is to download Swiftkey from the Market (free or pay should work)...then go into Menu>Language & Keyboard and check the checkbox for Swiftkey AND make sure you also go to "Input Method" and select Swiftkey...

    This allows your physical keyboard to actually use the properties of Swiftkey and eliminates the issue of quotation marks, parenthesis, dollar signs, etc. being attached to the previous word rather than the upcoming word....

    Swiftkey also has some good predictive text so I'm actually liking switching over...only bug I've seen with this is that if you now try to go to Landscape on your Pro screen you cannot get an on-screen keyboard to come up...
  9. kjjb0204
    Offline

    kjjb0204 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stingray, awesome suggestion. I had already purchased swiftkey for my previous device, so downloaded and loving it. Looks like after entering punctuation, it auto spaces too. This is rocking.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
  10. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Glad to help...this suggestion actually came from Matt (Forums Manager) over at the Motorola Forums....he's taking so much heat from everybody on the other Droid Pro issues I figure he needs an "atta boy" for this...

    Swiftkey works well, except for if you try to use an on-screen in landscape, which I never do....hopefully Moto will fix the stock keyboard in a future update, but for now this works...
  11. kjjb0204
    Offline

    kjjb0204 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never use landscape for typing, so not an issue for me either. Thanks again.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
  12. SingingAlcazar
    Offline

    SingingAlcazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed swiftype and it slowed my phone to a CRAWL!

    The phone got warm and every time I clicked in a text box to type the phone sat there and burned CPU for 30 seconds.

    Wow.
  13. google123
    Offline

    google123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also liked this suggestion for Swiftkey. There is one glitch for ME though. I use the keyboard's microphone key to open my ChompSMS quick entry box and when I activate Swiftkey as my keyboard, it doesn't work. I checked the settings and disabled the voice activation key option but it didn't work. I hope that I can find a workaround for this. Swiftkey's text prediction is just awesome btw.
  14. DroidToro
    Offline

    DroidToro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swiftkey seems to affect searches for me. When using search, it locks the phone for about 30 seconds before allowing me to proceed.

    Sent from my DROID PRO
  15. kjjb0204
    Offline

    kjjb0204 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The loss of voice button use is a trade off, but getting used to having my side key open vlingo instead.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
  16. paradime313
    Offline

    paradime313 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Signed up here after reading this thread just to give you a big THANK YOU for this post. This problem had me at my wit's end, and I was going to dump the phone completely. Mainly because this affects the "@" sign which I use a lot for text and twitter. SwiftKey works perfectly.
  17. dep
    Offline

    dep New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. dep
    Offline

    dep New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Vlingo via side key is an awesome idea! Never thought of that :)
Search tags for this page
how to enter quotations on microphone typing on droids
,

how to insert parenthesis on swift key

,
quotation marks swiftkey
,
where are the quotation marks on swiftkey