Adding Mature Words to Autocorrect Using Default Keyboard

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 3' started by Whitechapel, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. Whitechapel
    Offline

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    I can't seem to add mature words to my autocorrect on the default keyboard. I've added them to my personal dictionary but it doesn't seem to matter. I am adding the words after manually typing them in. It accepts it for that specific word but doesn't remember it.
  2. UltraDroid
    Offline

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    The forums have strict rules governing "mature words", so you may not be able to use them in posts on Droid Forums or any of it's sister sites.
  3. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,448
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Or did you mean on your phone?
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,784
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I think he means his keyboard. I think by default it doesn't save, no matter if added to personal dictionary, because of the word itself. Like there's a permanent filter even if you there is a setting that allows something like "offensive language".
  5. Jeffrey
    Offline

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Thailand
    I think he is talking about adding words to predictive text.
    mslaceyrose and leeshor like this.
  6. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Are you set on keeping the default keyboard? Could download a new one. My personal favorite is SwiftKey but there are a bunch out there. It saves my "dirty" language... Not that I ever use it. ;)

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
  7. UltraDroid
    Offline

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Well my point was actually that we don't allow most swear words on this or any of the FF Forums.
    Shadez and dezymond like this.
  8. Whitechapel
    Offline

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    I can use Swype. I've been using it for years.
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,535
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Trophy Points:
    113
    settings, language and input, keyboard settings, uncheck "block offensive words" and manually input words in "personal dictionary".
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,535
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Trophy Points:
    113
    that was for google keyboard as i have a nexus 5 so that is my default kb. Not sure if that will work with your device default.