Adding Mature Words to Autocorrect Using Default Keyboard

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 3' started by Whitechapel, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't seem to add mature words to my autocorrect on the default keyboard. I've added them to my personal dictionary but it doesn't seem to matter. I am adding the words after manually typing them in. It accepts it for that specific word but doesn't remember it.
     
  2. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +265
    The forums have strict rules governing "mature words", so you may not be able to use them in posts on Droid Forums or any of it's sister sites.
     
  3. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,422
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +205
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Or did you mean on your phone?
     
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,201
    Likes Received:
    843
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +884
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I think he means his keyboard. I think by default it doesn't save, no matter if added to personal dictionary, because of the word itself. Like there's a permanent filter even if you there is a setting that allows something like "offensive language".
     
  5. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +1,585
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    I think he is talking about adding words to predictive text.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +369
    Are you set on keeping the default keyboard? Could download a new one. My personal favorite is SwiftKey but there are a bunch out there. It saves my "dirty" language... Not that I ever use it. ;)

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
    • Like Like x 4
  7. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +265
    Well my point was actually that we don't allow most swear words on this or any of the FF Forums.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can use Swype. I've been using it for years.
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,550
    Likes Received:
    2,223
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,360
    settings, language and input, keyboard settings, uncheck "block offensive words" and manually input words in "personal dictionary".
     
  10. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,550
    Likes Received:
    2,223
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,360
    that was for google keyboard as i have a nexus 5 so that is my default kb. Not sure if that will work with your device default.
     
Search tags for this page

how to add a word to autocorrect on samsung phone