Adding contacts from a dumb phone to droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by P8ntballer789, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. P8ntballer789
    Offline

    P8ntballer789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerzy
    Is there a way to add my contacts to my droid from my previous phone (env2)? Like backup assistant or something?
    Thanx,
    Brandon
  2. homemadehitshow
    Offline

    homemadehitshow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They did it in the verizon store for me. They have some kind of computer program to do it. I have not cme across one that does it standalone. Perhaps you can export the old one's and then important them to gmail ???
  3. P8ntballer789
    Offline

    P8ntballer789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerzy
    Ok thank you,
    I dont have a gmail account but thinking of making one now. They did mine in the store as well but i bought a droid for my son for christmas and was curious if there was another way to do it.
  4. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Verizon should have done this for you. It's part of their procedure, unless you got your Droid over the mail.

    edit: Just have him go to Verizon and they'll get it done in probably less than 10 minutes.
  5. P8ntballer789
    Offline

    P8ntballer789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerzy
    He will just have to wait till the 26th for all his contacts to be added then haha. Thanks for the info guys
  6. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Yes there is a way to do it, it's documented on verizon's site also. If you have a login account, and go to my contacts, it will take you to a page and show you how to do it, but yes it's the backup assistant program inside the getitnow apps. You need to have a login account a myverizon for it to be free. Which you need anyways to actually access the contacts after you back them up to verizon. Once you have it installed and you have your account on myverizon, you just use the app and create a pin.. then it automatically syncs them with verizon.
  7. P8ntballer789
    Offline

    P8ntballer789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerzy
    Thank you very much New2u!!! Its much appreciated and will have him do it xmas day :)
  8. homemadehitshow
    Offline

    homemadehitshow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to have a GMAIL account for the phone don't you ?
  9. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yes, it's part of setting up the phone.
  10. P8ntballer789
    Offline

    P8ntballer789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jerzy
    i looked and do have one lol, my bad:rolleyes: i made it and never checked it since
  11. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used BitPIM to get the phonebook my my fiancee's Voyager and to get it into gmail. I'm sure there are similar solutions (if BitPIM doesn't work for the Env2) out there if you want to do it yourself.
Search tags for this page

how do i transfer all my contacts from a dumb phone to an ip

,

how to back up contacts from dumb phone

,
how to transfer contacts from dumb phone to andriod
,
how to transfer contcats from dumb phone to motorolag
,
transfer contact from dumb phone to htc one
,
transfer contacts from dumb phone to smart phone