Add button doesn't work

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by nortonsk, May 20, 2010.

  1. nortonsk

    nortonsk New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I'm a new user and not understanding some of the features. I'm trying to add a widget. I go to the Home screen, which had 8 icons, hold the menu button down and see 5 gray icons: Add, Wallpaper, Search, Notifications and Settings. When I tap any except Add, I get submenus. Add doesn't do anything. Would appreciate any help you can provide.

    nortonsk
     
  2. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    One of those options should say Widget, if not I can't help...Bump for ya
     
  3. nortonsk

    nortonsk New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see a widgets option. I thought I followed procedure I saw on two separate threads. It's as if the Add button is not activated.
     
  4. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    Holding down the Menu button only delays the display of the menu. You have to long-press on a blank spot of the home screen itself (Where you normally drag the icons).
    Also, keep in mind, that not all widgets take up the same screen real estate, and most don't tell you how big they are, so if you get an error about not enough space, try to clear up a 3x3 spot on the screen, as most widgets fall within that size somehow.
     
  5. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your screen is full, the add button will be grayed out.
     
  6. tameone

    tameone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    8 Icons shouldn't fill up the screen if they're all 1x1 (i.e. app icons).

    If the screen isn't full, pressing Add after hitting Menu key should bring up a sub menu which lists shortcuts, widgets, folders, wallpapers (basically, hitting Add from Menu is similar to long pressing on a blank portion of any home screen).
     
  7. nortonsk

    nortonsk New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem Resolved

    Thanks Fun4lo, Taegost and JCo352. Starting to understand that size does matter, at least with icons. Was able to make more space and activate Add button. It takes some practice to know how long to hold down buttons, et. al. I do like the Droid and will like it even more as I get to know it.

    nortonsk
     
  8. tameone

    tameone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You never need to long press Menu. It's only activated by a single "press". Only Home and Search have alternate functionality between a single press and a long press. For Home, long press brings up the task switcher, for Search, it activates voice search.
     
Search tags for this page
add on home screen greyed out android
,
add to homr android doesnt work
,
android add contact doesn't work
,
android doesn't show add button
,
android menu button desnot work s4
,
button doesn't show up android
,
how does the add this widget work on an android phone
,
press and hold to add widgets doesn't work on android
,

www.facebook.com/fun4lo

,
www.facebook.com\fun4lo