Add another "row" on the home

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by getget, Dec 21, 2009.

1. getget

getget New Member

Hello, i'm new to the Droid / Milestone community (French Azerty Milestone), and i'm wondering why there are only 4 "rows" on the home screen ...
    The droid has a 480x854 screen when other phones have a more conventional 320x480 screen, why don't we have 5 "rows" ?

There is a space between widgets and it's pure space-loss :/

It there a hack to choose the number (and size) of "rows" and "columns" on the home screen ?
  2. Spectral

Spectral New Member

I do not know of a hack that does that. And to be honest never even thought about that. It is quite a good idea though. It would have to involve new icons however to accommodate for the new amount allowed for rows.
  3. hebertm1

hebertm1 New Member

I have wondered about this quite a bit myself. What I have noticed is that the 4 rows and spacing is there so that when the screen goes into landscape the icons would not get bunched up with no where to go.

My older phone had Winmo on it and it had a problem when going to landscape the icons would have no where to go, but you were able to reposition them any where you wanted. You essentially had to make two separate layouts all of the time. If you added another icon to the desktop you had to arrange on both portrait and landscape, got to be a pain.
  4. JonKyu

JonKyu New Member

Im wonderng about this too. I really wished they fixed the spacing so we can fit more things on the screen. If anyone figures anything please share!!
  5. getget

getget New Member

On 320x480 screens, there are 4x4 "cells", so each cell is 80x103 pixel in size (i measured approximately 68px for top & bottom bars).