Add another "row" on the home

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by getget, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. getget
    Offline

    getget New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, i'm new to the Droid / Milestone community (French Azerty Milestone), and i'm wondering why there are only 4 "rows" on the home screen ...
    The droid has a 480x854 screen when other phones have a more conventional 320x480 screen, why don't we have 5 "rows" ?

    There is a space between widgets and it's pure space-loss :/

    It there a hack to choose the number (and size) of "rows" and "columns" on the home screen ?
  2. Spectral
    Offline

    Spectral New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do not know of a hack that does that. And to be honest never even thought about that. It is quite a good idea though. It would have to involve new icons however to accommodate for the new amount allowed for rows.
  3. hebertm1
    Offline

    hebertm1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have wondered about this quite a bit myself. What I have noticed is that the 4 rows and spacing is there so that when the screen goes into landscape the icons would not get bunched up with no where to go.

    My older phone had Winmo on it and it had a problem when going to landscape the icons would have no where to go, but you were able to reposition them any where you wanted. You essentially had to make two separate layouts all of the time. If you added another icon to the desktop you had to arrange on both portrait and landscape, got to be a pain.
  4. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Im wonderng about this too. I really wished they fixed the spacing so we can fit more things on the screen. If anyone figures anything please share!!
  5. getget
    Offline

    getget New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On 320x480 screens, there are 4x4 "cells", so each cell is 80x103 pixel in size (i measured approximately 68px for top & bottom bars).

    On a 480 x X screen, icons are 1.5 times bigger in terms of pixels in each direction, so each cell is 120x155px, assuming 102px for top & bottom, 5 rows + top & bottom make a total of 878px, so it doesn't fit without changing the size of the icons, or removing top & bottom bar.

    When using a home replacement like home++, we can get rid of top bar, and bottom bar is smaller, it could fit... maybe home++ developper can work on this ?

    Anyway, if we could use "standard" resolution cells, we should have 6x8 home screen (but with small widgets :))
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They also have to account for spacing when turned landscape.
  7. srt4mn
    Offline

    srt4mn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    It's possible without remaking the icons. Cyanogen has been doing this on the G1 for a while now (putting 5-6 icons on a row for his firmware). I am not sure how he does it, but it's possible.

    EDIT:
    I might have been mistaken, I was thinking the launcher, not the home screen.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  8. acepelon
    Offline

    acepelon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    If you want more icons on the Home screen, use the More Icons Free Widget

    This can theoretically quadruple the number of icons on a single screen with the paid version, triple with the free. Great program, never had a problem with it.
  9. jstrick5
    Offline

    jstrick5 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried it. It's ok. Can't add more widgets only application links and shortcuts.
Search tags for this page
add bottom row for apps android
,
add more rows andriod
,

add more rows android

,
add more rows to android
,
add rows to android home screen
,
android change row and column
,
android increase icon rows
,
create a row home screen android
,
home row android home screen
,
how can you add additional apps to the bottom row on an andr
,
how do i add more rows and columns on samsung s3
,
how to add icons row on android
,
how to add row and columns on shortcuts for android home scr
,
how to increase row in home screen android
,
increasing icon columns and rows in android