1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

adb

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Sidewind, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. Sidewind
    Offline

    Sidewind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would apreciate it if someone could explain how to use adb i know a little bit but cant figure out how to tell it to see my phone..basically i know just how to navigate to the tools directory to be able to use adb but do not know how to go from there..

    thx in advance
  2. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. synctek
    Offline

    synctek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    What is adb?
  4. phone
    Offline

    phone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Run "adb devices" and if it shows a serial number, you'll know you're connected. Run "adb" and it will spit out the list of commands you can run. "adb shell" will get you onto the phone's filesystem. "exit" to leave, IIRC.
  5. phone
    Offline

    phone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. nothing0
    Offline

    nothing0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    When I run adb, I get

    -bash: adb: command not found

    What am I missing? Phone is rooted- I have the adb installed... not a total noob but feel like one..
  7. phone
    Offline

    phone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The program probably isn't in your $PATH, try running it like,

    $ ./adb devices

    Note the "." before the slash.
  8. nothing0
    Offline

    nothing0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    The program probably isn't in your $PATH, try running it like,

    $ ./adb devices

    Note the "." before the slash.


    That was the problem. Thank you. :icon_ banana:
  9. Sidewind
    Offline

    Sidewind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    TY so much i got it now...much easier than typing on the droid :)
  10. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    As an fyi to anyone else checking this thread, you need to make sure you downloaded the USB drivers from the sdk setup menu. On my work computer, I downloaded Motorola Media link, and that took care of usb drivers. At home, no MML, and I had to sdk setup the usb drivers. Simple but easily overlooked.

    Craig