adb

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by brendanstl, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. brendanstl

    brendanstl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering if anyone could tell me where I could find adb for a download. I know myself and a lot of others have been asking this question for a few days and we have gotten no answers.
     
  2. phone

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. thed0cb

    thed0cb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont want to sound like a jerk, but I dont think you have been doing much reading. Its part of the SDK. Ive learned everything about this phone/linux through these forums.
     
  4. brendanstl

    brendanstl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess had I known that what sdk was then I would have known that adb was included. Sorry, been too tied up in trying to get this 2.1 update working and trying to iron out the bugs rather than reading about sdk when I figured it had nothing to do with what I was trying to achieve.
     
  5. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once we have adb on our computer (Mac), what is the next step? I searched the forums for 'adb' but nothing came up.
     
  6. brendanstl

    brendanstl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    JhakG, I'm sure thedOcb will come along and tell you he's not trying to come off as a jerk but if you read a little bit you can figure it out, thats what he told me. But I'm in the same boat, some of us dont have all day to research this stuff and luckily there is some good folks on here that can help you out without being a s#art$ss about it. I need to figure this out too. A lot of this terminology doesnt make any sense to me, I have to learn hands on, not read.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  7. phone

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a pretty broad question but to get you started.....

    Go to Menu/Setting/Applications/Development and check USB debugging. Connect your phone to computer via USB cable....

    Run:

    adb devices

    If you see a serial number, then you should be good to go to start using adb with the phone.

    If you run just "adb" it will spit out a usage page.

    To navigate you're phone's filesystem you can run.

    adb shell

    You should be presented with "$" and if you have root on your phone, you can "su" to root. At this point you can run any system command your phone possesses, similar to being on the command line in Linux.
     
  8. Akira

    Akira New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, when you say

    run adb

    what does that mean. open a terminal, double click something, or what?

    ;) thanx
     
  9. brendanstl

    brendanstl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it safe to say that once I install all the updates in sdk that it asks me and after doing all the other steps that you have stated, it will notice my phone?
     
  10. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right now I do have my phone rooted. I updated to 2.1 but decided that it's just not ready yet and went back to 2.0.1. I'm now trying to go through the wifi tethering instructions, but to update to the new kernel, you have to do it through a recovery console with adb. I downloaded the SDK for Mac, but I'm pretty clueless from there. Will I just be opening a terminal on the Mac, connect the Droid, and then be running commands from adb on the Mac?

    Brendan, I completely agree. There are some folks who remember what it was like to be new to all of this and are happy to lend a helping hand. Although I don't have much knowledge or experience with Android or Linux, I have been able to help a few people with backing up their phone with nandroid, updating to 2.1, and editing their notification bar to black and the notification shade to be transparent.
     
  11. phone

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm talking from the command line.

    So for example.....

    $ adb devices
     
  12. brendanstl

    brendanstl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You helped me out quite a bit and I appreciate that. Just some people on here make me not want to ask questions.

    To help you out a bit I opened sdk and started doing all the updates that it recommended when I went into the available packages tab. If you read the read me file that came with the file you downloaded it might help you a little bit. Is it hard to make the notification bar black?
     
  13. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not all all man. Much easier than updating to 2.1!
     
  14. brendanstl

    brendanstl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL.... most things are easier than that was. You have a link to that?
     
  15. phone

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    In order to run adb I didn't have to do anything but unpack the source package and run it. I didn't have to install any updates or anything. I don't know how the Mac or Windows packages work.

    If you have the adb executable on your system, the phone set up with "USB debugging" as I described, it should be able to read your device fine, when you plug it into your computer.

    Just run:

    $ adb devices

    to verify. You should see a serial number, doesn't have to be your phones serial number. That means you're good to go to start using adb.