ADB Shell wont run! What am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cwininger, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. cwininger
    Offline

    cwininger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The D
    i can't get adb shell to run. i keep getting this error:

    error: protocol fault <status 5b 72 6f 6f?!>

    i can reboot the phone through "adb reboot", unmount via "adb usb", and "adb devices" shows the phone serial number, so i know the phone's connected.

    when i try to run adb shell i get the same error every time. incidentally, i get a similar error when i try to run the "adb root" command.

    the phone is in debugging mode and i have the approprate drivers installed. i also have the 2.1 sdk kit installed. i'm running smoked glass 6.0.1 right now. i'm using windows xp to run adb.

    this is my first attempt at getting adb up and running, so any info would be appreciated.
  2. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Did you add the path to the sdk tools directory in your autoexec bat or some other method to get it to system path on the computer? Alternatively, run the command from the directory that holds SDK tools. Open the command prompt and type "cd **whatever\directory**\ SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools. Mine is in the C:\Users\bob\Documents\data\download\Motorola Driod Phone\SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools

    From the C: SDK\android-sdk_r05-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools> I type adb shell and it pops up.

    Nate
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  3. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you most likely have the wrong driver. winxp uses the 32bit driver. perhaps redownload it and install it from scratch again
  4. cwininger
    Offline

    cwininger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The D
    did that. i'm trying to run adb shell in the command prompt from C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>, which is where it's actually located. i'm still getting the error.
  5. cwininger
    Offline

    cwininger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The D
    tried this as well, no change. same error message. anybody else?
  6. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    if you have the right drivers and you have the path in the system variables and you are executing from the directory where adb resides, then you're typing something wrong or you have a bad install of sdk tools or you don't have root access. Narrow it down.

    Nate
  7. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    > What am I doing wrong

    Using windows. Download a live-linux distro (Ubuntu, Knoppix, DamnSmallLinux, Fedora, etc.) and run adb from there.

    E
Search tags for this page
adb doesnt open
,
adb error: protocol fault (no status)
,
adb error:protocol fault
,

adb protocol fault

,
adb protocol fault (status 74 65 73 74?!)
,

adb protocol fault no status

,
adb shell error: protocol fault (no status)
,
adb won't stay open
,
can't open adb shell
,
error: protocol fault (no status)
,
error: protocol fault (status 73 68 65 6c?!)
,
how to open adb shell in cmd
,

how to run adb shell

,
protocol fault no status adb
,
ubuntu adb shell error: protocol fault (no status)