1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Adb Pull Help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by buddy5582, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I'm learning (or at least trying to) here....

    I'm trying to pull a .jpg off my sdcard and place it on my hard drive but it won't happen, lol.

    I have SDK and the variable path set to the tools folder so I open up CMD type "adb shell" get the "#" and I'm off...


    I type:

    "adb pull (have tried w/o adb here) /sdcard/picsay/filenamehere.jpg c:\documents and settings"

    I get the error:

    /system/bin/sh: pull: not found

    Haven't run across anything solving this problem. Please help me learn.
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
  2. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't use adb pull from within adb shell. You use adb pull from your pc instead of adb shell. If it's on the sdcard why don't you just mount it to your pc to get the file? When you plugin your droid via usb you should get a notification on the droid, click it and select to turn on usb storage or whatever it says. Now it should show up as mass storage on your pc and you can copy your file.
  3. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's right, instead of opening an adb shell, just use

    adb pull /sdcard/yourfile /whereveryouwantit
  4. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you elaborate a little more on this statement, please? This is definitely where I'm messing up and confused.

    I know that I can mount the phone to use as a Mass Storage device and copy it that way, I'm just trying to practice using adb. Thought copying from the sdcard would be the safest thing.....

    Thanks for the response.
  5. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open up a CMD prompt and just type the command like that? I tried cd to the tools folder of SDK and when i tried the pull it just gives me info about Android Debug Bridge. ?
  6. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you read the info it gave you? It should tell you all of the options including pull and how to use it.
  7. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yessir, this part:
    adb pull <remote> <local> - copy file/dir from device

    I tried
    My prompt says:
    C:\Android\tools\
    I type
    adb pull /sdcard/ringtones/filewhateveritis.mp3 C:\Documents and Settings


    On th verge of giving up....thanks.
  8. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    try adb pull /sdcard/ringtones/filewhateveritis.mp3 c:/documentsandsettings

    even though it's a dos prompt..the adb pull directories both need to use / instead of \.
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
  9. alf
    Offline

    alf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try this adb pull /sdcard/ringtones/filewhateveritis.mp3 filewhateveritis.mp3



  10. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does it say when you type that in?
    You may need to put a trailing slash after C:\Documents and Settings
    Or maybe adb doesn't handle the spaces in the destination which means you would need to put quotes around it. I would lean towards doing this:

    adb pull /sdcard/ringtones/filewhateveritis.mp3 "C:\Documents and Settings\filewhateveritis.mp3"

    If that doesn't work let me know what error you get.
  11. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks everyone for trying to help me out here, I really appreciate it.

    I have tried the last 3 suggestions, using the back slash, not including the destination directory, closing it with the forward slash, and putting the destination in quotations. All of those attempts result in the Android Debug Bridge Version 1.0.25 information being displayed. No error or anything, just the information about ADB is displayed.

    Again, thank you .
  12. alf
    Offline

    alf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that was it. He wasn't giving it a output file name.
  13. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My last attempt looked like this:

    C:\Android\tools>adb pull /sdcard/ringtones/Shakedown Street.mp3 "C:\Documents and Settings\Shakedow
    n Street.mp3"
  14. alf
    Offline

    alf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you pull down the status bar does it say usb connected?
  15. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does and also says USB debugging connected. I have not mounted it.
  16. alf
    Offline

    alf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mount the sd card. does it come up on pc?
  17. bogdan912
    Offline

    bogdan912 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If he isn't in recovery mode the sdcard will already be mounted to the phone.

    Sounds to me like you are trying to learn adb, which is good. Try putting quotes around the name of the mp3 only. Are you sure you have the correct path for the mp3 on the sdcard?
  18. alf
    Offline

    alf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hes not. I wanted him to check to see if he was using correct path and file name.
  19. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am definitely just trying to learn adb! I'm beginning to think that maybe this wasn't the way to go about it....

    I tried mounting the sdcard and also the quotation marks around just the destination filename. No go's. :(
    And path and filename are correct.
  20. buddy5582
    Offline

    buddy5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I am only able to view the contents of the sdcard after I've mounted it.
Search tags for this page
/system/bin/sh: pull: not found
,
adb pul
,

adb pull

,
adb pull device not found
,
adb pull doesn't work
,
adb pull help
,
adb pull not found
,
adb pull not working
,
adb pull: not found
,
adb shell pull
,
how to adb pull
,
how to use adb pull
,
use adb pull
,
using adb pull
,
where does adb pull files to