ADB on 2.2? Working for anyone?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by budmonster, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    Why, why, why! Can't I get ADB to work on 2.2? I've tried Birdman and Pete's ROMS. I've updated my Motorola Drivers to 4.6.0, I also installed "SDK Platfrom Android 2.2, API8, revision1". Am I missing something?

    I'll open up a CMD window and type "adb remount" and it doesn't work, but I can type in "adb shell" and it works. I need "adb remount" to work so I can pull/push files, etc. Unless their is some other way to do this, that I'm missing? This has been pissing me off since Froyo has come out and still no luck. The only time I can get "adb remount" to work is when I'm in recovery and I mount /system. I have to do this all in clockwork, it's tedious and doesn't work all the the time.

    I've tried Android Commander, but not of my apps show up in the /data folder, so I can't pull files using Commander.

    I really don't want to go back to 2.1 just because of ADB, so please, anyone if you can help let me know, because I'm losing my damn mind!
  2. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    It won't work until someone edits the boot.img. You can adb remount by typing adb root then adb remount once it says it is running as root.
  3. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Adb works just fine Running BB V0.2.1 Just type in adb shell and it picks it right up.

    You did cd to the directory right.
  4. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    Does not work!


    C:\Users\Home>cd c:\android

    c:\android>cd tools

    c:\android\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    $ adb remount
    adb remount
    adb: permission denied
    $
  5. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    THANK YOU! :icon_ banana:

    It seems to work so far, I'll try and push/pull some apk tomorrow but atleast I got it to work.

    C:\Users\Home>cd c:\android\tools

    c:\android\tools>adb root
    restarting adbd as root

    c:\android\tools>adb remount
    remount succeeded

    c:\android\tools>


    What does the "adb root" command actually do? Where did you find this out lol? I've been trying forever on a solution. So many people cant get ADB to work on 2.2. I wish I had a guide with all the commands.
  6. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Once you type in adb shell you cant use adb since Android does not have adb built in.

    If you dont type in adb shell then adb remount would work.

    Same with push and pull you cant use push or pull when logged into the shell.


    Also just type in su and you see a # after that.
  7. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    I did try and type "adb remount" by itself and it does not work. You have to type "adb root" first then "adb remount". Check the comment from the other user above. That is the only way to get it to work in 2.2.
  8. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    This is what you posted.

    c:\android\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    $ adb remount
    adb remount
    adb: permission denied
    $


    You were in shell.


    Also by chance what kernel are you running on a P3Droid Kernel and my adb works just fine.
  9. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    I was on Birdmans rom with his stock kernel not I'm on Petes latest rom with no kernel.

    Everyone that I have to spoke has told me that the adb remount command does not work in 2.2.

    Are you telling me that when you type "adb remount" in a CMD window that it works for you? If so, than your the first LOL. Please show me your command window prompt, like what you typed.
  10. tjkriegel
    Offline

    tjkriegel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been booting in recovery, mounting system, and adb push/pulling from there and that's been working fine.
  11. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I have had issues with doing adb push but everything else works. Going to try that adb root to see if that helps.
  12. FDFTW!!
    Offline

    FDFTW!! New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I used ADB with the SDK yesterday to push a new boot animation to my phone. Works fine. I am on a Mac, if that matters.
  13. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    ya i know you can adb remount when your in recovery, but its a pain in the ass. use "adb root" first. then you wont have to reboot into recovery.
  14. JakeCallery
    Offline

    JakeCallery New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm.. I tried adb root, but I get a "Device Not Found" error. And indeed if I do adb devices, there are none listed. USB Debugging is enabled on the phone... When it wasn't working for you were there any devices listed when you did adb devices?

  15. tjkriegel
    Offline

    tjkriegel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    adb root is listed in the adb commands. it simply restarts the adbd daemon with root permissions. Type in adb commands and it will show you the list.
  16. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee

    Petes rom with no Kernel might want to rethink that one.
  17. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    i ment the kernel that he provided. i didnt flash my own or anything.
  18. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee

    OK just checking.
Search tags for this page
adb android 2 2
,

adb android 2.2

,
adb does not see my droid2
,

android 2.2 adb

,
my adb shell command dont work
,
note 2 adb drivers not working
,
why wont adb command work on htc dna