ADB Devices showing nothing when in bootloader

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by maderschramm, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ok, so I was flashing Chevy's new Rom onto my phone. It was successful.
    I had some crap on there I wanted to get ride of; so, booted into Clockwork Recovery, formated system/data/cache, installed Chevy's rom again, and rebooted.
    Hung on M boot screen. Battery pull for same result. Booted into bootloader and plugged it in to sbf. USB Transfer enabled on phone, adb devices shows nothing. This has never happened before, my drivers are up-to-date, etc.
    Thought it might just be my computer acting up, so moved from my linux machine to windows. Plugged it in, said driver was installed successfully (also had updated drivers as I originally rooted the phone using adb tools on the windows machine). Adb devices also shows nothing on this machine as well.
    Booted into recovery mode and formated data/factory reset. Still hangs on M.

    All out of ideas and worried.

    Any help?

    EDIT:
    Also note that this means that RSD_Lite 4.8 for example will not show any devices listed, making an SBF seemingly impossible. I originally noticed the issue only because I was attempting sbf_flash and it said no devices listed.
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Do any of your nandroids work?

    Sent from somewhere...
  3. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    I'd tell you if I knew how I could get to them. All I can get into is the Recovery Mode for the DX, not clockwork recovery mode. If I'm missing an easy way to get into Clockwork I'd test that out myself, but I don't really know how.
  4. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I can't be of much help as I'm not familiar with the DX. Bump for ya though.....

    Sent from somewhere...
  5. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    recovery.zip?

    perhaps if I use a recovery.zip file to restore it that will work. I can get into recovery mode after all. So far, every file I've tried to restore has given me an error - starting with a signature unverified (from .sbf file) then Error in /sdcard/update.zip (Status 2) from a Blur_Version.1.13.604.zip file (after naming it to update.zip of course).

    I think that error is because it's for 2.1 or something. Can anyone help me with this?

    EDIT:
    Tried to manually create the .recovery_mode file but it didn't boot to clockwork. I assume it's because my system is hosed...making an SBF the way to go IF IT WOULD CONNECT.

    Goddamn this is making me mad.
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  6. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ignore this post - battery was just low
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  7. Daali
    Offline

    Daali New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Pull battery, while unit is plugged into the usb, have someone put battery back in while you hold down the God aweful bootloader sequence(hold down the camera button, down volume button, and then press the power button.)
    I've had to do this the last time I got hung up(boot looped)
  8. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    You have any advice on getting ADB Tools and by association RSD_Lite (or sbf_flash) to recognize my device?
  9. Daali
    Offline

    Daali New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    If you are not running the 4.7.1 drivers, I would try that and rsdlite 4.9

    That procedure above I had to do to get mine connected at one point

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  10. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Uninstalled and reinstalled 4.7.1 drivers on windows several times, I was using RSD_Lite 4.8; however, I've used sbf_flash in the past to sbf (Linux program) and it worked fine, for some reason my device isn't detected anymore by ADB Tools, RSD Lite (which I never did get to work) or sbf_flash.

    I will attempt 4.9 RSD_Lite, but to be honest, I don't think it will resolve the issue.
  11. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    bump for help
  12. techarlj
    Offline

    techarlj New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had this same problem, I know it seems rediculous, but try another usb cable. My droid cable will not show device on rsd but my cable from my bb storm will. Good luck.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Not a bad idea, I'm in tech support myself and usually tell people to try this right away to troubleshoot computer problems. I'll give it a shot, never thought of it.
Search tags for this page

adb bootloader

,
adb device show nothing
,
adb devices not showing nexus 4 in bootloader
,
adb devices nothig shows up
,
adb devices nothing shows up
,
adb devices show nothing
,
adb devices showing nothing
,

adb devices shows nothing

,
adb linux devices from bootloader
,
bricked phone adb devices show nothing
,
linux adb device not showing
,
list of devices shows nothing for adb devices