ADB and USB driver help needed!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by orbatrin, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. orbatrin
    Offline

    orbatrin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been trying to figure this out for approximately 48 hours now..no luck.

    I cant seem to get adb to locate my device. I know that I need to install the usb drivers that came with the Android SDK but I am unable to do so..every time my phone plugs in it automatically installs the drivers. The reason for this is because I used my phone with my PC before and used MOUNT when connecting with usb cable. I am aware that when using mount. the pc automatically detects it as a Mass Storage Device...I tried uninstalling drivers and installing new drivers and everything around it...still no luck.

    Does anybody have a solution to my problem? I'm pretty sure their are other people out there with the same issue

    Here are my specs:
    Windows 7 Home Edition
    Motorola Droid from Verizon
    stock USB cable
    Android SDK rev.4 which includes 2.1 (usb drivers are updated)
    I access my ADB through CMD through the AndroidSDK/Tools/
    I type adb shell...
    Daemon started successfully...
    error: device not found!!!

    I had to use the public libraries computer to flash my droid for overclocking and I was successful. I still need this to work on my laptop. Please help.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  2. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    After uninstalling the drivers, check for the device in Control Panel, System and delete it from there. May also be shown as unknown since the drivers are gone.
  3. cplus
    Offline

    cplus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I'll try to help. Go here: USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola USA and download "Motorola 4.2.0 Driver with MotoConnect* (for 32-bit versions of Windows®)." Install, connect phone (you should see 1 additional driver install), try adb shell again. Hope this helps, good luck!
  4. orbatrin
    Offline

    orbatrin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry guys.....I've tried all that....I just went through my registry and deleted everything containing Android...just connected my my device and I did not mount it. Windows 7 attempted to install the drivers and said "failed". I went to device manager and it shows "Android Phone":"Motorola A855" with an exclamation mark meaning the driver is not working properly. So I went into properties and attempted to update the driver...selected my driver and it said that the current driver is up to date "the best software for your device is already installed" then "this device is not configured correctly.

    I attempted to access adb but no luck. If I mount the phone then windows will automatically install the appropriate drivers and my adb would still not work...

    Please help!!!
  5. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its not configured for windows 7 so You need to set the compatibility for the driver to run on vista sp 2 I think it was.
  6. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Not true about win 7. I did not have to change anything with compatability mode when I did all this on win 7.
  7. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    You need to put the Droid in debugging mode. I believe it is in settings then applications then development.
  8. orbatrin
    Offline

    orbatrin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys guys let's not get out of hand here...its not the compatibility issue, its not the debugging issue..if u read my post thouroughly..u will notice that I already overclcoked my phone at the public library. It just does not want to connect on my laptop because windows 7 defaultly recognizes it as aa mass storage device?? Any help would be really appreciated. Thank you
  9. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    I really dont know how win 7 is turning it into a mass storage device if you are not selecting mount. Does it actually allow you to drag and drop files?

    And for the record...Does not matter what you did before, things can get switched back. You did not specifically say that you still had it in debug, so I dont assume anything.
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  10. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Have you tried plugging in your phone, going to device manager then drives and uninstalling the Droid from there? Not saying this will help, but worth a try. When I just did that, unplugged my Droid and replugged it back in, it reloaded the drivers.
  11. orbatrin
    Offline

    orbatrin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I uninstalled all the drivers for the droid in device manager. Unplugged the usb cable. Plugged it back in it auto installs the drivers as mass storage and when it attempts to install the droid driver it comes up as not fully functioning. I went to device manager and attempted to update the driver from sdk and other drivers as well. It tells me its already installed with the newest drivers but still not functioning. When I mount or restart pc with droid plugged in the auto installs fully functioning. But it worked at the library pc.
  12. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Hmm. So you did uninstall the device though, not just uninstall drivers? Within the drives section.

    So you did install the motoconnect 4.2 drivers from the link someone sent and it did not update those drivers?
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  13. orbatrin
    Offline

    orbatrin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did just that and it would install. It because every time I plug in my device it installs drivers auto and when I delete them and attempt to install those moto drivers it tells when drivers are current but not functioning
  14. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im tellin you look at the driver specs it says nothing about win7. Maybe some ppl dont have to do this but you should take a look anyways...

    LINK
  15. orbatrin
    Offline

    orbatrin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read the specs...I tried uninstalling again and installing those drivers with different directions specified in the link and so forth. No luck. I'm very good with computers and able to solve almost any problem...but this problem...cannot be solved :( I think I'm down to the point of formatting my pc and before mounting my phone..install the drivers..i guaranty that will work....since it works on all computers that never had a droid connected before...seems to me that once you mount through the phone, android auto installs drivers into windows. Does not matter if you uninstall the drivers..you cannot override the drivers with any other driver for some reason..

    Anyways....If anybody has any pretty good suggestions...please post...I will be formatting my pc by 1-23-10....hopefully a solution is provided before that time. Thanks for everybody's help.
  16. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For any mac users just wanted to let you know you don't need a driver, just put the phone in debug mode and run it....works great.
  17. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. therdgenrx7
    Offline

    therdgenrx7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. AngDroid
    Offline

    AngDroid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem not to long ago. I posted my solution in a different thread. If you search the forums for all of my posts you should be able to find it.

    If you are using Droid Explorer the drivers are in two locations on your pc and need to be modified in both locations.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2010
  20. hopworks
    Offline

    hopworks New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I searched your posts and found one that eluded to modifying an INF file, but not enough info to fix my issue, which is the same as the poster.

    To expand on what the poster said, I have the same issue, where the drivers I don't want exist on my system somewhere now. When I plug my droid in, they just reinstall. I never get the option to install a driver and when I try to do that manually, I get the response that mine are the most current and that's it.

    It would be nice if I knew where those drivers are now so I could delete them and get the option to install whatever I want without them just reinstalling on plug in. I have done everything in this thread... uninstall the devices from device manager, etc etc.

    And because of that, I can't move to the next step in trying to get this tether technique to work. It doesn't now with my browser (Firefox) telling me that the device is refusing the proxy connection. Yes Proxdroid is running and YES debugging is enabled. Pdanet service is disabled, even uninstalled at one point. Port is fine (8080) and localhost selected as the server. I have rechecked every mentioned step a dozen times.

    I'm going to reinstall XP Pro on my laptop this next week for other reasons and I made a note to use the correct driver this time when I plug the droid in for the first time, but it would be nice if I could configure my existing system to act as if it was the first time right now. sigh.

    Hop
Search tags for this page
adb driver droid x2
,

adb drivers droid x2

,
adb drivers droidx2
,

adb drivers for droid x2

,

configure usb to adb

,
droid x2 adb
,

droid x2 adb driver

,

droid x2 adb drivers

,
how do you turn the adb on for a droid x2 2.3.5
,
motorola adb drivers
,
motorola adb interface is not configured correctly
,
motorola droid x2 adb drivers