Ad-Blocking In Gingerbread 2.3.3

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by Steveolicious, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. Steveolicious
    Offline

    Steveolicious New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So NO Gingerbread ROM I have ever used allows for ad blocking in apps anymore. Is there anyway at all to enable ad blocking in a Gingerbread ROM?
  2. mikedav1
    Offline

    mikedav1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly PA
    Adfree does a nice job.
  3. Steveolicious
    Offline

    Steveolicious New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AdFree works great on Froyo ROMS but it NEVER works on any Gingerbread ROMS :icon_evil:
  4. mikedav1
    Offline

    mikedav1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly PA
    Well, I'm running the nightlys and it works fine for me. Lucky I guess.
  5. Steveolicious
    Offline

    Steveolicious New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm... maybe once those nightly's reach stable AdFree will work for me again. dancedroid
  6. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try one of Winner's nightly builds, they should have ad-blocking built in.
  7. groovydeus
    Offline

    groovydeus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    39.8° N 84.2° W
    Are you restoring Adfree from a previous build (via TI Backup or something)? I find that when restored, Adfree fails to work. I typically have to go into manage applications > clear data > uninstall then re-download from the market > update the local hosts file > reboot and things work fine from there.
  8. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Adfree works for me on CM7. Most apps it blocks ads for. Some it doesn't. All that needs to happen is for the adserver for the apps in which it doesn't work be added to the hosts file.
  9. phonetool
    Offline

    phonetool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AdFree Android was working fine for me on CM7.0.3, but now on 7.1.0RC1 it does not. I tried this clear/uninstall/reinstall but that didn't fix it.

    AdFree had an update yesterday, too. I was hoping that would do the trick but so far no joy.
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2011
  10. Steveolicious
    Offline

    Steveolicious New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am on the latest RC of Cyan and Adblock still does not work for me. I am NOT restoring it. I am downloading it from the market each time. BUMMER. It works fine of Bugless Beast! I like Cyan and don't wanna go back to anything else. But ads are downright ANNOYING.
  11. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Kind of a silly question, but after installing Adfree, did you open Adfree and click update hosts file? After flashing a new build I have to go back in to Adfree and re-update the hosts file, or else no adblock occurs.
  12. phonetool
    Offline

    phonetool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup yup yup

    I wonder... it could be just one app that's still getting ads. Everything else seems pretty clean. That one app is Backgammon by AI Factory.
  13. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    It is probable then that the adserver that AI Factory uses hasn't been added to the hosts file that adfree downloads.
  14. phonetool
    Offline

    phonetool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed.
    In any case, ads or not, I'm very happy with my CM Droid. dancedroid
Search tags for this page
ad blocker gingerbread
,
adblock android 2.3
,
adblock android 2.3.3
,
adblock android gingerbread
,

adblock for android 2.3

,
adblock gingerbread
,
adfree android gingerbread
,

adfree gingerbread

,
android 2.3 ad blocker
,
android 2.3 block ads
,
android 2.3.3 ad blocker
,
best ad blocker for android 2.3
,
block ads on android 2.3
,

gingerbread ad blocker

,
how to block ads on android 2.3