Active display stopped working

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by Gary37716, May 9, 2015.

  1. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    A couple days back my active display stopped working. If I turn it off in settings, reboot, and turn it back on it'll start working for a short period of time.....maybe one or two swipes, and then it stops again.

    I thought about uninstalling it and reinstalling it, but I haven't figured out how to uninstall it, or if you even can. I also wiped the cache partition, but that didn't help either. I haven't installed any new apps recently, so I don't believe there are any conflicts.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,872
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,380
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    So the screen doesn't pulse for new notifications?
     
  3. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    No, the screen remains off unless I press the power button.
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Do you have any sleep timers set for it? It won't show notifications when that's set...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,872
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,380
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Also, what apps are listed in Active Display > Select Which Apps To Appear? I remember reading a post on the moto forums a while back that an app named POF was causing Active Display to stop unless the phone was rebooted, then after a day or two it stopped pulsing again. It might take a while but you could start unchecking apps that you want to see display on Active Notification and see if any particular one makes it work correctly when it is not checked.

    As far as uninstalling, that was a system app that shipped with the phone so I don't think it can be uninstalled.
     
  6. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    No sleep timers are set.
     
  7. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    I deselected all of the apps, so the only thing that it should display (to the best of my knowledge) is the unlock icon and current time when the phone is moved, bumped, etc. It won't even display that.....just completely blank unless I press the power button.
     
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,872
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,380
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Well that's strange. Definitely something weird going on there. What about Safe Mode? Now that you have everything unchecked, maybe check one thing, text, g mail, etc. Then put the phone in Safe Mode and see if the notification pulses for that one item.
     
  9. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    I tried safe mode with nothing selected, but it didn't change. I didn't try it with something selected though, so I can try that.
     
  10. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    This is gonna seem odd...but is your screen clean? If your IR sensors are blocked it won't come on
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Well, that didn't change anything either.
     
  12. Gary37716

    Gary37716 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Trenton, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Yes, I tend to be pretty anal about the screen being clean. LOL
     
Search tags for this page
active display in moto maxx 2
,
active notification not working in moto g3
,
active stopped worked
,
android active display not working
,
display stop working android
,

droid maxx active display not working

,

droid turbo active display not working

,
moto x active display not working
,
motorola droid maxx active display is not working what to do
,
motorola turbo active display not working