1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Achieving Permanent Root on Fascinate.

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by FrostMan, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. FrostMan
    Offline

    FrostMan New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    you should contact the authors of those posts to see if he/she would let you post them on here.. then you wont have to rely on their links if their servers go down.

    just a suggestion :)
  3. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    63
  4. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Confirmed, as I posted on FascinateForums.com.
  5. eleazar
    Offline

    eleazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you thank you thank you. That was the easiest root ever. Took me less than 5 minutes.
  6. phyziks
    Offline

    phyziks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after:
    - chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

    my cmd prompt just says "adb connection will be reset. restart adb server on desktop and re-login."
    what am i supposed to do here?
  7. stanrc
    Offline

    stanrc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wait for it to kick back to the default windows prompt "C:\"

    Got mine today and rooted as soon as I got home, now to wait for CM6.
  8. phyziks
    Offline

    phyziks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got an icon called "Superuser Permissions."
    I clicked on it, opened cmd, and cd'd the SDK tools folder and typed:
    -adb shell
    -su

    then it got a thing called "Unknown (uid:2000)" and when i click on it, it says:

    Package: unknown
    Requested UID: root (0)
    Command: /system/bin/sh
    Status: Allow
    Created on: 2010-09-10 01:04:48
    Last Accessed: 2010-09-10 01:04:48

    DOES THIS MEAN MY PHONE IS ROOTED?!

    or did I still do something wrong? :(
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  9. JoeK
    Offline

    JoeK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help

    I am totally lost here.
    Could you list step by step-like hook up phone, open command, etc...
    everytime I enter something in the command - I get nothing

    I want to root this phone, or I am taking it back. Somebody please help.

  10. GHII
    Offline

    GHII New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't believe it, I just went through the RootzWiki root instructions and it worked, but once I rebooted I lost root, what gives?
  11. roofz
    Offline

    roofz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone post a detailed step by step guide of exactly what to do for someone who has never done more than add songs to his android phone?
  12. mddx
    Offline

    mddx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just follow these steps. I just did it and it works 100%

    Fascinate
  13. JoeK
    Offline

    JoeK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    adb

    I should have been more clearer. I don't understand adb push, adb shell, and all of the other stuff. Am I copying and placing files to the sd card? I am new at this and really could use the dummy version. I wish somebody would make a youtube video.


  14. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    For those of you worried about rooting or are very new to this whole process I will write up a walk through for newbies when I get home from work today if nobody has done it already.

    Sent from my Samsung Fascinate using Tapatalk
  15. jessie02
    Offline

    jessie02 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As a noobie, this is starting to make a little sense. Only problem.... When im in my command promtp I can run the adb command to find my device which it does. once i get to the "adb push" command, the get the message "adb is not recognized as an internal or external command, etc..." any ideas??
  16. Steeeler
    Offline

    Steeeler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How about a walk through on ADB for not newbies, technically challenged, and extremely frustrated people?

    For some reason, I just cant get ADB to load on my laptop. Keeping getting a java error.
  17. phyziks
    Offline

    phyziks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i mean this is the first android phone i've owned and such, but i'm pretty sure you have to cd c:\(wherever your android sdk tools folder is) first and then do adb push. let me know if that works.
  18. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Yea I'll write it up start to finish.

    Sent from my Samsung Fascinate using Tapatalk Pro.
  19. Steeeler
    Offline

    Steeeler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Dude, you are awesome!
  20. 713King
    Offline

    713King New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    will there be some type of sbf file for the Fascinate just like the other Droids???
Search tags for this page
how to permanently root fascinate gingerbread
,
root samsung fascinate wrong qt version
,

samsung fascinate 2.1 root

,
update.zip file for rooting galaxy s fascinate
,
verizon fascinate one step root
,
xda samusung fascinate lost root