Achieving Permanent Root on Fascinate.

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by FrostMan, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. FrostMan

    FrostMan Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will simply link to two posts which have directions on how to achieve permanent root in the meantime while custom kernels are released with root incorporated.

    xda-developers - View Single Post - rooting

    And this one is for the epic 4g, but it is confirmed that same instructions work on fascinate.

    joeykrim-SDX - Permanent Root for Epic (and Verizon Fascinate) - Confirmed

    Edit: I have not tested this yet, as my delivery is scheduled for tomorrow.
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    you should contact the authors of those posts to see if he/she would let you post them on here.. then you wont have to rely on their links if their servers go down.

    just a suggestion :)
     
  3. danDroid

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +161
  4. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Confirmed, as I posted on FascinateForums.com.
     
  5. eleazar

    eleazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you thank you thank you. That was the easiest root ever. Took me less than 5 minutes.
     
  6. phyziks

    phyziks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    after:
    - chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

    my cmd prompt just says "adb connection will be reset. restart adb server on desktop and re-login."
    what am i supposed to do here?
     
  7. stanrc

    stanrc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wait for it to kick back to the default windows prompt "C:\"

    Got mine today and rooted as soon as I got home, now to wait for CM6.
     
  8. phyziks

    phyziks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got an icon called "Superuser Permissions."
    I clicked on it, opened cmd, and cd'd the SDK tools folder and typed:
    -adb shell
    -su

    then it got a thing called "Unknown (uid:2000)" and when i click on it, it says:

    Package: unknown
    Requested UID: root (0)
    Command: /system/bin/sh
    Status: Allow
    Created on: 2010-09-10 01:04:48
    Last Accessed: 2010-09-10 01:04:48

    DOES THIS MEAN MY PHONE IS ROOTED?!

    or did I still do something wrong? :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  9. JoeK

    JoeK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help

    I am totally lost here.
    Could you list step by step-like hook up phone, open command, etc...
    everytime I enter something in the command - I get nothing

    I want to root this phone, or I am taking it back. Somebody please help.

     
  10. GHII

    GHII Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't believe it, I just went through the RootzWiki root instructions and it worked, but once I rebooted I lost root, what gives?
     
  11. roofz

    roofz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone post a detailed step by step guide of exactly what to do for someone who has never done more than add songs to his android phone?
     
  12. mddx

    mddx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just follow these steps. I just did it and it works 100%

    Fascinate
     
Search tags for this page
how to permanently root fascinate gingerbread
,
one step root fasinate
,
root samsung fascinate wrong qt version
,

samsung fascinate 2.1 root

,
update.zip file for rooting galaxy s fascinate
,
verizon fascinate one step root
,
xda samusung fascinate lost root