Accidently changed setting - Just once or Always

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by jfinn0, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. jfinn0

    jfinn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I go to change a sound in any app it asked me if i wanted to use a list of 2 applications Just once or Always I have been selecting Just Once because I haven't decided what application I was to use each time i try to set a sound such as the alarm or ringer volume. I accidentally this last time selected always. Is there a way I can reset this back in a setting somewhere?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Roget83

    Roget83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Go into settings and open your applications. Then select the one you chose always for. Scroll down to the clear default button. Press it and it will no longer automatically use that app.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. jfinn0

    jfinn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That worked. Thanks!
     
  4. Sunnyg70

    Sunnyg70 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I have the same problem. Lollipop. (this thread is probably referencing KitKat.) I prefer that with KitKat you could hit the stupid option once and it wouldn't ask you "Just once" or "always" and it just assumed "just once". I don't know when I'm going to want to change the app I chose something from. So, this time, I hit the "always" by mistake.

    I've tried the "clear defaults" as was suggested at the top of this thread, and I have no idea what it cleared, but it DID NOT go back to letting me choose where to select my images from. I do know that sometimes I will want to chose from dropbox, not always from gallery.

    HELP! :-( *kick stupid upgrades* Why can't they leave well enough alone...
     
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,469
    Likes Received:
    7,049
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,391
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Welcome to the forum. You're right that this thread is a bit out-dated, but the fix is still the same. Clearing defaults on the app that you accidentally selected for always should cause the system to ask you again which app to use next time you're in a situation where it used to ask.
     
  6. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Welcome to the forum.
    have you tried go to phone settings, applications (manager word is there on some models, all, scroll down to gallery, tap it, scroll down to clear defaults? Also try that in the app that chooses gallery every time. Sometimes the main clear defaults doesn't clear them in individual apps.
    Hope that helps.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4
    <><
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. GailC

    GailC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy 5
    I have tried clearing defaults for Gallery and Reacticons under Manage Applications, both individually and under the trpile dots. It does take the default off but when I try to use one of them in a text attachment, the 'Always/Just Once' options are still missing.

    I use both Gallery and Reacticons as an Image choice; I don't want a default. Without the Always/Just Once, whatever I choose sets as the default. How can I get the 'A/JO' selections to show up?
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,810
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    You'll need to clear defaults for the app you're using for text
     
  9. GailC

    GailC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy 5
    Thanks for the tip. I deleted the Messages default; also made sure they were still turned off for Gallery and Reacticons. But A/JO still won't show up. Turned the phone off & on, too, after making the change.

    If you have other ideas, please let me know.
     
Search tags for this page
always just once android
,
always or just once
,
android just once always
,
android just once always change
,

change always just once settings

,
galaxy s3 just once always
,
how to change always or just once
,
how to change always setting on android
,
how to change always to just once
,

how to change just once always android