Access in the Caribbean

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Slothead, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. Slothead
    Offline

    Slothead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Going to take a Caribbean cruise shortly. Aside from cruist sship connections, is there any access in the southern Caribbean, Panama, or in Colombia, SA?
     
  2. edthesped
    Offline

    edthesped Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had Verizon access in Puerto Rico and roaming in St. Thomas, St, Martin, Nassau, Barbados, St. Lucia, Grand Cayman, Jamaica, Cozumel and Cancun. Cell phones are ubiquitous on the islands so you should at least have roaming access anywhere you go, unless you head way off the beaten path.

    Don't take up too much sunshine, because I'll be in St. Martin next month and am in desperate need of warmth and sunshine.

    edit: also, cruise ship connection rates are brutal, if I remember correctly RCL charges somewhere in the neighborhood of $2/min.
     
  3. Slothead
    Offline

    Slothead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey thanks,
    Of the islands, we will be in Aruba and Grand Cayman. We'll be careful on board. And I'll leave some sun for ya! :)
     
  4. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out this posting on using Verizon in the Caribbean: Will verizon work in the caribbean?

    Also you might just want to call Verizon since they probably have more information on service, plans, pricing etc...
     
  5. Slothead
    Offline

    Slothead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow what a load of crazies in that thread! I'm glad I'm not crazy! :)
    Thanks for your suggestions,
    Tom
     
  6. Slothead
    Offline

    Slothead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually the real reason for my asking probably doesn't have as much to do with the cell access as much as it does with GPS functionality. I am trying to determine which GPS device it makes more sense to prepare and carry around. When I was in Italy last year, after already using the GPS on my iPhone, I shut it off because I was afraid of what I was going to be charged! If you guys know how the GPS works on the Droid, I would be interested in knowing that. I will be talking to VZW too, but if you have any hints I would love to hear them.
    Thanks,
    Tom
     
  7. edthesped
    Offline

    edthesped Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm that GPS will work but maps will not unless you pay for data. If you want to use maps you will have to find an off line solution. I took my droid on a cruise in December and was using the GPS with a tracking program, I forget which one as I've since switched to Maverick. The program saved my track and I was able to overlay it on a map after the cruise. Just an FYI, you will find it very difficult to get a satellite lock on board even if you have a balcony. I don't know if it's because of all of the steel or what but I found I needed to be outside on one of the top decks to get a good lock and even then it took quite a while to get an initial lock. I rarely got a lock from the balcony. A couple of years ago I took a Garmin Oregon on a cruise and had the same locking issues so it's not the phone.

    Have fun.
     
  8. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can see the sky GPS will work, but as mentioned you also need maps to work as well and that needs a signal to work. I would take another GPS if I were you.
     
  9. steveinil
    Offline

    steveinil Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    st. louis area
    Ratings:
    +0
    any idea on what the roaming charges are when in jamaica? i am going in like 10 days. and was debating on takeing the phone at all but may if i will have roaming there...
     
  10. SGTiger
    Offline

    SGTiger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use oruxmaps. Directions for it will show you how to download and use Trekbuddy Atlas Creator to download maps for the area that you will be in.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use verizon in carribean
,
is there verizon service in st. lucia
,
using verizon in caribbean
,
using verizon in the caribbean
,
using verizon phone in caribbean
,

verizon caribbean

,
verizon service caribbean
,
verizon service in the caribbean
,
verizon wireless grand cayman forum
,
will my verizon iphone work in the caribbean