Access Home Computer??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Wrh23, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. Wrh23
    Offline

    Wrh23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just seen the commercial that says you can access your home computer from your bionic and stream music and things of that nature....anyone know how to do that and care to list the steps to do so? Thanks a lot
     
  2. dudeitsmattx
    Offline

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think one of the factory installed apps does it. Not 100% sure.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  3. Rjohnson3452
    Offline

    Rjohnson3452 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Zumocast does it. Just open it up and follow the directions.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. Tegamal
    Offline

    Tegamal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    This. Listen to it.

    It works great, I don't have to carry my Zune around anymore.
     
  5. The Race To Die
    Offline

    The Race To Die Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0
    App is called zumocast

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. Wrh23
    Offline

    Wrh23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm getting an error message when I attempt to install it that says:The setup is about to be interrupted for the following reason:The JRE setup has been abnormally interrupted... IMAGINE THAT! I've rebooted the computer and tried again to no avail....UGH!!!!!!
     
  7. soccerdude6227
    Offline

    soccerdude6227 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    JRE is Java runtime environment. You might want to try and see if you can update it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. Wrh23
    Offline

    Wrh23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much guys...finally got it and love the app!
     
  9. tbell6
    Offline

    tbell6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So has anyone looked at how Zumocast
    works? ie: Seems like potential for it to be a big brother app.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. crxlvr
    Offline

    crxlvr Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use it to stream movies and documents from my home computer without any issues. Make sure ur java is up to date. And also your computer needs to be on and zumocast running on it for it to work. Plus you have to specify which programs and files you want to be shared.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
     
  11. Batman8
    Offline

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have the same concern. Does Zumocast work along with firewalls or do you have to turn them off and be unprotected to use this app? If anyone knows how to allow Zumocast access through a firewall, please list the steps. I'm on a Macbook by the way.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Dark_Jedi
    Offline

    Dark_Jedi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blytheville, AR
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't use that antivirus crap on my iMac..so i don't know lol.
     
  13. tbrand68
    Offline

    tbrand68 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NW Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    The default settings in the Zumocast server (what you install on your PC) opens ports on your software firewall and uses UPnP to open inbound and outbound ports on your router. It seems to send the public IP address of your router to their "cloud" server so the app on your phone can connect to your PC if your IP address changes... that's why you have to log into their app on the phone...
    So is there a potential for "big brother" looking at your stuff as you stream... I'd say yes... there is. But this is my humble opinion. I can't find any docs that say the stream to and from their "cloud" is encrypted and isn't being watched for content...

    I'd love to hear something from their representitives... I use it, but only to send files and some recorded tv to my phone. It works great!
     
  14. Batman8
    Offline

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hey tbrand68,

    Does that hold true for just PCs or for Macs as well? I'm on a MacBook and all I get from the app I'm running on my laptop is "This server is offline." I may be wrong, but it seems like the ports are NOT opening by themselves, so I never see anything (files, music, movies, etc.). Do you have any ideas on how to get Zumocast working on a Mac w/firewall and Norton virus protection? Thanks.
     
  15. cbrmike
    Offline

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep getting wifi is needed to for video playback , it plays fine over wifi but whats the point if you need to have wifi to watch a movie. Is this the norm or do I have something setup wrong ? I can see my pics and play all my music just cant watch movies.
     
Search tags for this page

+zumocast firewall router

,

access computer with bionic

,

access home computer droid bionic

,

accessng my bionic from mt coputer

,

droid bionic app to access home computer

,

the setup is about tobe interrupted for the following reason

,

use droid bionic to access computer