about roms.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by wtfscrappiie, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. wtfscrappiie
    Offline

    wtfscrappiie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just rooted my phone and everything, new to all this stuff but i got the basics already down but i was wondering if you can run two roms at once, since when u install a rom ur wiping data oout and stuff which in my understanding wipes out the rom too so you cant run both?
  2. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    No you can not run two roms at once. Wiping data does just that. It wipes the data portion which is apps, mail, and such. When you go to install a rom onto of another rom you can get all kinds of errors. So when going from one rom to another wipe data, system and cache for best results.
  3. woodyman
    Offline

    woodyman New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    However, you can install whatever kernal you want onto almost any rom.. It's located in the boot.img of nandroid backups and I can provide even more instructions if needed..

    Also check out the site and other droid forums thread in my signiture..

    And u can add/install Any apk to any rom, and if u don't like certain apks on a rom u can also remove them with the proper commands..

    Hope this covers it..
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lets not get ahead of ourselves. If you use a 2.0.1 kernel on an ERE25 or ESE53 ROM, you just broke your install.

    Same going from ERE25, or ERE53 based ROMs to 2.0.1.
  5. woodyman
    Offline

    woodyman New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Yes failed to mention u can't mix 2.1 and 2.0.1.. nice catch