About me: typical droid owner

scerruti

Reaction score
droid, the dawn of a new age.

A little bit about my background, I am a software developer who cut my teeth on writing control software for power stations and satellite ground stations. I have since worked projects dealing with Internet traffic monitoring and most recently I am doing video enable web applications.

I had the opportunity when data first became available on cell phones to work a project where we were using cell phones as data back hauls for mobile satellite Internet connections. I also was a registered iPhone developer though we never released an application.

My previous phone was a Sony Ericsson P1i. I loved this phone so much that I paid retail for it. The only real downside was the lack of 3G and its (Symbian variant) UIQ O/S. This phone was amazing and I personally miss it a lot. Unfortunately is was losing its marbles and needed to be replaced.

I have never been a huge fan of the iPhone. It was too limiting compared to the P1i and I didn't want to have to jailbreak a phone just to write my own software for it. That being said, it is a phone that I would recommend to a majority of the population.

I was very excited about Android but the early products were lame. The G1, MyTouch and Cliq all felt like toys to me. I was very disappointed and was in the planning stages to buy iPhones when the Droid was announced.