A2sd?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by ocdrummer2011, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. ocdrummer2011

    ocdrummer2011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to use Apps 2 SD with the newest bugless beast rom? If so, how could I do it?
     
  2. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,091
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +374
    Have not played with the new rom yet. I thought apps2sd was a Froyo built-in feature and I've been able to do that with Titanium backup on the original leaked version (note: doesn't seem to be a good idea with anything that loads a widget or needs access to system info - guess the safe bet is stuff like games and other standalones that would only ever open if you launch to use).

    My question is if droidswap is going to work with this.
     
  3. korp

    korp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apps to SD is in froyo which bugless is based on 2.1 not 2.2 froyo.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,091
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +374
    HTML:
    
    
    Ummm, isn't the new BB based on Froyo? Dude, it's been out for like 6 hours, get with the program!
     
  5. ocdrummer2011

    ocdrummer2011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so it's possible? How would I go about doing this? I just have a lot of games and I would like to transfer the games to my SD Card.
     
  6. crownroyal

    crownroyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think it has to be either app supported, or apps need to be moved to sd via titanium...pretty sure it works though
     
  7. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,091
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +374
    I heard many apps did not support this. I've experimented with only a few thru Titanium, but it seems to work well.

    Like I said, I learned it doesn't work with the widgets, and widgets linked to programs disappear if that program in on the sdcard.

    May be common sense to more tech savvy people, but I assume nothing will update or refresh if it's on an sdcard. But cames and some rarely used apps would be great on sd, although don't think that really does anything for your ram/
     
  8. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Incorrect. Pete has released a new bugless beast rom based on 2.2. It is up the each app dev whether or not they will allow you to install to your sd card. Go to settings, applications, all, choose the app, and you will see an option to "move to sd card". If it doesn't allow you to choose that option, it means the app dev hasn't made it possible yet.
     
  9. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I have to partition my sd card first?
     
  10. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. It uses a completely different method than Cyanogen does for his ROMs. You don't have to do anything special other than going through each app to see if that dev has made apps2sd possible. For instance, I know setcpu allows you to move it to the sd card.
     
  11. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  12. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome :).
     
  13. ocdrummer2011

    ocdrummer2011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see the option that says "Move to sD Card" thats cool and all... but I wanted to move just my games and most of my games don't have that option.
     
  14. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,091
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +374
    Question: Does this make droidswap obsolete? I'm not sure it would even work on BB Froyo, but it also seems like Froyo's app2sd might make it obsolete.

    Not sure if the new app2sd is doing the same thing to help manage the ram a bit better or not (talking system ram for running apps and processes)
     
  15. Sweet Daddy

    Sweet Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Quick question. Coming from a 2.1 rom where apps2sd was utilized, what happened to all of the apps that I had in that partition?
     
Search tags for this page
a2sd widgets
,

what does a2sd mean