a way to hard reset?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by SDiener72, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. SDiener72

    SDiener72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the privacy factory thing
    and it just kind of resets it, but my wallpaper i changed too was there
    and some third party apps where

    there

    is there another way to hard reset with buttons or something?

    i tried the home and power buttonthing i found when i google searched for droid hard reset but it doesntwork.
     
  2. godanigo

    godanigo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you held them both down at the same time...AND for 25 seconds? If you let up too early it just restarts. You need to wait until the triangle appears.

    Edit: Atleast that's how it was on the G1. Here is the only page in the manual that says anything relevant to reseting. http://www.engadget.com/photos/motorola-droid-user-guide-0/2406260/
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  3. SDiener72

    SDiener72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    home button is a touch button, you cant really hold it down,.

    I turned off phone

    touched and held home and power button, the motorola symbol came up i kep helping
    then eventually i say the droid screen shot
    and nothing

    what am i doing wrong.
     
  4. SDiener72

    SDiener72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this isnt a hero
    its a droid
    totally different and 2.0 android
    hero is 1.5 or 1.6
     
  5. TastyMouthful

    TastyMouthful New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    To Perform a Reset

    1. Open the Applications Tray. (arrow pointing up located in the middle at the bottom of the display screen)
    2. Touch Settings
    3. Touch Privacy
    4. Touch Factory data reset
    5. Touch Reset Phone
    6. Touch Erase Everything
     
  6. crownedzero

    crownedzero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    JVegas, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem here is the sync with Google. Prior to doing the reset make sure you deactivate the sync. If I read correctly this will remove your Google-server side settings; then proceed with the reset.
     
  7. twiztidglory

    twiztidglory New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This isnt much help but i read somewhere there is a combination with the physical keyboard to do a hard reset.
     
  8. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
  9. gfc781

    gfc781 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI if you do a hard reset you will loose your address book. I had some software issues with my phone (wouldn't recieve Email) and verizion had me do a hard reset and it fixed the issue, luckily my numbers are still n my old phone and all i have to do is go back to a verizion store to have them transfered. Verizions daily back up update does not work with the driod OS.
     
  10. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your address book should be in GMail - let it sync first if you can or find a way to get them into GMail first so this way they are backed up on Google's servers.

    BTW when you get the yellow triangle you cacn hit Alt+L to see the options in recovery mode, but Alt+W will wipe the device.
     
  11. danDroid

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,401
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +151
    Please let me know if this worked for you so we can add it to the FAQ...
     
  12. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the same way its done on the G1 so I am going to say that it will work exactly the same way since the recovery mode hasn't changed since 1.0
     
Search tags for this page

droid hard reset

,
hard reset motorola droid google
,
how to hard reset motorola droid
,
how to hard reset verizon android/
,
how to hard reset verizon motorala
,
how to reset a motorola with google verizon phone
,
how to reset android 1.5
,
how to reset verizon motorola with google
,
motorola droid hard reset
,
reset