A very easy guide to Rooting, backup, and ROM flashing for the D2....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by nerdslogic, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
  2. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY


    This is a good visual tool as well.
    Dl rsd lite 4.9
    The latest drivers from motorola.com
    The full d2 sbf file (not system only)
    Boot into bootloader (power and up)
    Follow the directions on the video and threads. It's easy as long as you gave the files
    Pm me if you need to and ill send you my number if you need a walk through.
    All the best!

    CM74D2 (1250Mhz-v6 supercharged)
  3. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Now my phone won't turn on. I don't know if it will hold a charge. >_>

    Edit post 1: I really appreciate the help. I'll post my results as follows.

    Edit post 2: Is there a method that works even if SBF wasn't done?
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2011
  4. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    What do you mean, if sbf wasn't done? You need to sbf. Period. Charge that battery somehow (like I said above) put it back in bootloader and run the sbf. It's your only option. Use the threads i posted to help you. Pm me if you need and I'll call you.

    CM74D2 (1250Mhz-v6 supercharged)
  5. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    My screen is having issues since the battery isn't holding a proper charge. I had a one shot (maybe two shot at best) window. I got through it 100% and RSDLite said "Flashing Failed" in the status margin. I had updated my drivers, downloaded rsdlite 4.9, and downloaded the full sbf file (VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01.sbf).

    The screen on the phone read:
    Critical Error
    FEBE
    0047

    ..What now?

    Edit: As for not "SBF-ing" in my earlier post, my terminology was off and I thought it was a fail-safe I failed to create (which clearly isn't the case).
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2011
  6. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Wait. That sbf file looks like the dx file. Aren't you on a d2? Make sure you have the full d2 sbf file, not dx :)

    CM74D2 (1250Mhz-v6 supercharged)
  7. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I was using the DX first, but then switched to the D2. Had the same results. :(

    I took it by the VZ store earlier. They determined that it was broken for unknown reasons and are sending me a replacement. I think I wiped it so bad that no one can figure out what happened.
  8. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Haha, wow. Well, at least you're getting a replacement.
    All the best.

    CM74D2 (1250Mhz-v6 supercharged)
  9. thebird36
    Offline

    thebird36 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    for some reason z4root isn't working.... unless it takes over 10 minutes to root... it's never taken this long before
  10. george396
    Offline

    george396 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    android version 2.3.3
  11. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    You said 'before'. You've successfully done this process in the past?

    What is the step-by-step process that your'e doing?
  12. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    thebird....what version of Android are you on and what version of Z4 do you have?
  13. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Sometimes it will hang while running the exploit on the 1st try. It's common. If it happens, just pull the battery (it won't hurt don't worry!). Reboot the phone and once it's completely rebooted (give it 3 min or so), run z4 again. It should work within a minute or so (it will run the exploit, reboot and you'll be rooted).

    CM74D2-GB
  14. elzapato
    Offline

    elzapato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks for this link, MI! psouza's one-click app worked where z4 failed.

    I had to run Pete's Motorola Root Tools (aka psouza) twice. The first attempt failed. The second one took, and I have the little superuser icon now.

    For those who are curious, the message I got after the first failed attempt was:
    "Try again from the start, but if the problem continues, check your version
    of Gingerbread -- hopefully you don't have a version where this exploit
    was fixed.:

    I have a freshly-arrived-from-Verizon, refurbed-under-warrranty Droid 2 with these system specs:
    System Version 4.5.601.A955.Verizon.en.US
    Android Version 2.3.3
    Build number 4.5.1_57_DR2-31

    Now I have to go find a wireless tether app that will work under Gingerbread.
  15. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
  16. elzapato
    Offline

    elzapato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  17. elzapato
    Offline

    elzapato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Quick followup, ldopa. This version of Android Tether didn't work for me after rooting. Neither did a couple other wireless tether apps that are on Android Marketplace.

    I tried instead Wifi Tether for Root Users v3.1beta2 (google it), and it worked for my D2 with Gingerbread 2.3.3. After installing, set it up by select DroidX as your device profile. In addition, I also selected Change Setup-Method to Hostapd (master). So far, it works.
  18. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Good to hear.

    LiquidD2
  19. HutRU01
    Offline

    HutRU01 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    This worked. Thanks for the tip!

    Should be in the sticky!
  20. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Sweet. Glad it worked for you.

    CM7-11/22
Search tags for this page

a very easy guide to rooting droid 2

,

d2 titanium backup loop

,

nerdslogic

,

not a nandroid backup