A very easy guide to Rooting, backup, and ROM flashing for the D2....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by nerdslogic, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. george396
    Offline

    george396 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what do you mean wipe and reflash?
    loaded handsent, see if i get the dreded double notices. have auto retrieve off on both stock and handsent.
    swipe dosent work, tried beta and it wont work either.
    still like the gingerbread though.
  2. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Reinstall is what I mean. Go into clockwork and wipe and reflash it should take care of a lot of bugs. It's up to you though, if you can't get your sms working properly

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8-Gingercomb Juiced
  3. MAMBA24ILL
    Offline

    MAMBA24ILL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Flashed this ROM but i don't like it. What should i do to remove it. Noob question, i know, just don't want to mess up my phone.
  4. hellmonkey
    Offline

    hellmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flash the backup that you should have made. If you did not make one, then you need to find a stock image or another ROM.
  5. MAMBA24ILL
    Offline

    MAMBA24ILL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Thank you hellmonkey. That seems to have worked.
  6. d4dEf@c@
    Offline

    d4dEf@c@ New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    If you have a NAND recovery from the stock froyo ROM, and you are currently running a GB ROM can you recover the NAND and be back totally to stock?
  7. andrewqueen
    Offline

    andrewqueen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hi when installing the liberty rom do i need to take my sd card out of my phone?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Nope.

    From my Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
  9. andrewqueen
    Offline

    andrewqueen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ok thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  10. d4dEf@c@
    Offline

    d4dEf@c@ New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    are there any issues with z4 rooting stock D2? I keep getting hung up at running exploit.
  11. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    No way. If it glitches, just pull the battery and run it again. Second time usually takes 30sec. I've never had an issue

    From my Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
  12. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Well....this was easier to do vs the easy easier one! :) Thanks Im now rooted and backed up!
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  13. george396
    Offline

    george396 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just wanted to pop in and say thanks to you guys i still love the gingerbread. just started getting some reboots, but my be app related.
  14. slimpirudude
    Offline

    slimpirudude New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gingerbread as in cm7?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  15. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Guys I need major help.

    I successfully installed Liberty but like most folks, didn't have the Backup Assistant and greatly needed my contacts. [I think this is where I messed up]. From clockwork, I selected to Restore in hopes of rebooting into stock. Since then, I have been stuck at the Liberty screen in a boot loop. I am not able to access Clockwork at this time (or don't know how).

    Things I have tried:
    1) holding down the power an x key to boot in systems recovery
    2) wiped data/factory reset via this method.
    3) wiped cache partition via this method

    Still locked on Liberty boot loop screen. I need help bad.

    DROID2
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2011
  16. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Or.. Is there a way to delete Liberty and go back to factory reset? I'm not worried about my data; I have have multiple backups. I'm more worried about having a useless device.

    Any help is appreciated.
  17. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    You'll have to sbf. No other way around it, especially if you've already gone into stock recovery and wiped data.

    It's sbf time.
    You won't have a useless device. Just get back to stock. Reroot and try again.

    CM74D2 (1250Mhz-v6 supercharged)
  18. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    What sbf method do you prefer? I google that and a million responses come up. Is there one you recommend?
  19. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
  20. GTStevo
    Offline

    GTStevo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    On the off-chance that I didn't SBF before I did any of this; is all hope lost? If not, is there a zip file I can put on my phone's SD card and boot from that?
Search tags for this page

a very easy guide to rooting droid 2

,

d2 titanium backup loop

,

nerdslogic

,

not a nandroid backup