A very easy guide to Rooting, backup, and ROM flashing for the D2....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by nerdslogic, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. sh1nkiknmidg3t

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would if I had one but its two bucks in the market. Well worth it. just tell someone you'll buy them some mcdonalds for it.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  2. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    lol you beat me to the edit, yeah just found it on the market. Should mention this in the first post. This is the correct one right?
    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.koushikdutta.droidx.bootstrap
     
  3. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    After reading the OP, I was happy to finally get some instructions on rooting with z4root, and creating a complete os and apps EVERYTHING back up...until I read the above post by hookbill.

    So hook, what your saying is if I follow these directions given in the OP, (minus flashing a rom) I wont be able to load the back up I saved??

    sent from my droid 2 global using droidforums app
     
  4. krnmc

    krnmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hey when u said backing up your ROM after rooting does that mean right after you root? so when we unroot we can flash to stock? or ROM that we flash to? Or is both wrong? lol sorry its been a while since i root / flashed roms and themes. I used to do it on Omnia and Omnia 2 and first droid but that was long time ago><
     
  5. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You root, reboot into clockwork, backup, wipe data and cache, install ROM, enjoy. If you want to go back to stock, restore from your backup, then unroot.
     
  6. krnmc

    krnmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County
    Ratings:
    +16
    How long does it take to root? mines been stuck at the z4 mod screen for a while..
     
  7. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Restart the process. Should be less than 2 minutes
     
  8. krnmc

    krnmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County
    Ratings:
    +16
    Got it to work =] can you over clock this phone?
     
  9. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hellmonkey,

    I rooted, and then wanted to make backup. So I installed droid 2 bootstrapper. Followed directions and made a backup. What all does that include, and where do I find it? If I wanted to restore to that backup, say my phone messed up, how would I restore/boot into the recovery or whatever I would have to.

    Also, why do I need to wipe out data and cache? If I do need to how would o go about doing it.

    Thanks!!


    sent from my droid 2 global using droidforums app
     
  10. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The backup is on the sd card under Clockwork. DO NOT delete it since that is your factory image. You can boot into clockwork recovery and restore if need be. This is an entire system image. It includes the OS, apps, settings, everything. You can bounce beteween ROMs and stock in a out 4 minutes if you have a backup of each.

    Wiping the cache cleans the phone so its clean for ROM installs. You only need to do this if installing a ROM, not restoring from a backup, at least in my experience.
     
  11. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hellmonkey- thank you for the help. I appreciate it! I only have one more question for you about this. When you say (see quote^ ) I am needing a little more direction. If my phone crashed and android wouldn't load, therefore I couldn't just open up the droid 2 bootstrapped app, how would I get to the screen with the green letters (where I backed it up at originally) so that I can choose restore instead backup. Would I turn phone on and while its booting press a certain key or what? Sorry for all the questions, im new at this and trying ti catch on!

    sent from my droid 2 global using droidforums app
     
  12. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clockwork is set to load un an unsuccessful power off, kinda like safe mode prompt and windows. You can. Test this by pulling the battery while the phone is on. It should boot to clockwork.
     
Search tags for this page

a very easy guide to rooting droid 2

,

d2 titanium backup loop

,

nerdslogic

,

not a nandroid backup