A very easy guide to Rooting, backup, and ROM flashing for the D2....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by nerdslogic, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. vxx76

    vxx76 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, did that and hit reboot and it's on the liberty screen so we'll see what happens...
     
  2. vxx76

    vxx76 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    woot, done... that was painful, i had a brick, so i had to switch my mac to windows mode and figure out how to sbf my phone back to original 2.3.2, then rooted, then bootstrapped, flashed liberty, works like a charm... thanks for the help my man, i appreciate it... that sucked haha but its so worth it, liberty is the ****
     
  3. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, glad its working for you.
     
  4. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    How long does z4root take? Its been trying to root for like 5 mins and still says it is running the exploit. I did choose permanent root.

    EDIT: So I exited back to the home screen and tried again. This time it worked in a few secs. So disregard.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  5. Pepito1134

    Pepito1134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    rooting hacking

    Root noob here. Im not totally lost, but its my first smartphone root. Im on the Droid 2 global. Currently in south america. I had to jump through incredible hoops to get this thing to work in the first place so im kinda sketched out by the "bricking" possibility. Example, i had to "unlock the sim" and "activate" it once i turned it on for the first time all without a Verizon number or contract. Then i had to find a carrier that would even consider trying to pick it up, as they looked at me like an alien invader with this foreighn space age phone. Then it was a total struggle and a half to get 3G to pick up, lets just say i couldnt find anybody to manually set my Access Points, so i had to learn how to do that, and figure out what the settings were to connect. And here we are, these fools cant sell me a wifi-hotspot data plan, because they have no clue what a hotspot is. LOL
    So:
    1, do i have to root before i backup? Maybe im missing something, but i just want to know if i would be safer backing up first. Or is it that the root lets me create that backup? Just a little clarification please.
    2, will this root let me access all my currently installed apps and settings and overall look? Im not trying to get my phone to do backflips. I want it to stay as stock as possible which brings me to
    3, will it let my built-in wifi hotspot app finally work? And if not what do i need to read? This is my main goal in rooting... im happy with the phone 99%, the hotspot working would finish it off. And if its free, booya bonus.
    Kthxbai
     
  6. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does any one have a mirror for the bootstrap for the D2?
     
  7. sh1nkiknmidg3t

    sh1nkiknmidg3t Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would if I had one but its two bucks in the market. Well worth it. just tell someone you'll buy them some mcdonalds for it.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  8. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    lol you beat me to the edit, yeah just found it on the market. Should mention this in the first post. This is the correct one right?
    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.koushikdutta.droidx.bootstrap
     
  9. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    After reading the OP, I was happy to finally get some instructions on rooting with z4root, and creating a complete os and apps EVERYTHING back up...until I read the above post by hookbill.

    So hook, what your saying is if I follow these directions given in the OP, (minus flashing a rom) I wont be able to load the back up I saved??

    sent from my droid 2 global using droidforums app
     
  10. krnmc

    krnmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hey when u said backing up your ROM after rooting does that mean right after you root? so when we unroot we can flash to stock? or ROM that we flash to? Or is both wrong? lol sorry its been a while since i root / flashed roms and themes. I used to do it on Omnia and Omnia 2 and first droid but that was long time ago><
     
  11. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You root, reboot into clockwork, backup, wipe data and cache, install ROM, enjoy. If you want to go back to stock, restore from your backup, then unroot.
     
  12. krnmc

    krnmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County
    Ratings:
    +16
    How long does it take to root? mines been stuck at the z4 mod screen for a while..
     
  13. hellmonkey

    hellmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Restart the process. Should be less than 2 minutes
     
  14. krnmc

    krnmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County
    Ratings:
    +16
    Got it to work =] can you over clock this phone?
     
  15. slimpirudude

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hellmonkey,

    I rooted, and then wanted to make backup. So I installed droid 2 bootstrapper. Followed directions and made a backup. What all does that include, and where do I find it? If I wanted to restore to that backup, say my phone messed up, how would I restore/boot into the recovery or whatever I would have to.

    Also, why do I need to wipe out data and cache? If I do need to how would o go about doing it.

    Thanks!!


    sent from my droid 2 global using droidforums app
     
Search tags for this page

a very easy guide to rooting droid 2

,

d2 titanium backup loop

,

nerdslogic

,

not a nandroid backup