A simple way to root on a mac?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by paperdoll11789, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. paperdoll11789

    paperdoll11789 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this most likely has been posted many times before but I havent really found one.
    Is there any simple way to root from a mac computer most of the downloads i saw were for windows. or am i looking at the wrong things?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I don't believe there is an easy way to root a Droid simply on a mac. If you run windows in bootcamp you might be able to do it with the latest install of Froyo. I tried it with a virtual machine and I had to use a pc to runs RSD Lite and install SPRecovery. It fails on a virtual machine but I'll bet it will work with bootcamp.

    After that I installed Froyo and it comes with root.
     
  3. rickdarris2004

    rickdarris2004 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bootcamp is your only option, RSDLite needs windows.
     
  4. gt_nfr

    gt_nfr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^Yup, I had to use bootcamp and install Vista on a separate partition to root my phone...yeah I went through a lot to get this bay rooted haha.
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Other options:

    If you have access to a friends PC
    Install VMWare or Parallels then Windows.
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nope. As I said in my post Virtual machines do not work. A friends PC will.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Actually thanks for confirming boot camp. That was a guess on my part, you are the first person I know who has verified it.
     
  8. Uinluan

    Uinluan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I rooted my phone two days ago using a Windows 7 Virtual Machine running inside of VMware Fusion for the Mac. It was very straight forward. Yes RSDLite need Windows but my Windows 7 Virutal Machine took care of that requirement
     
  9. durrell

    durrell Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I definitely don't recommend trying to root using a virtual machine. It is a huge pain. I tried rooting on my Mac first using VirtualBox + Win7, but the virtual machine wouldn't reconnect with the phone after it had been flashed using RSDLite. Definitely just use BootCamp and save yourself the heartache.
     
  10. paperdoll11789

    paperdoll11789 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the ways everyone
     
Search tags for this page
can you root from a mac bootcamp?
,
droid easy mac
,

droid easy root mac

,
easiest way to root android phone on a mac
,
easy root droid using mac
,

easy root for mac

,
easy root on mac moto x
,
easy way to root a verizon s3 4.12 on a mac
,
root android razor easy mac
,
root s3 easy mac