A Rooting Problem never discussed?.....Porting old phone number after the root

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Phxphenom, May 29, 2010.

  1. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I bought my Droid a month ago and my contract with T-Mobile didn't expire until yesterday. So today I went through the motions with Verizon to port my old phone # over so I could continue to use it.

    I currently have my old Blackberry forwarded to my newly issued Droid
    #.

    Since I bought the Droid, I have installed BB V1 and yesterday v1.1 .

    When I try to call out using the Droid, I get a Verizon recording telling me that it they" are sorry but they cant currently authenticate my phone...Would I like to wait for an operator to make a collect call?"

    What do I do next? Call Verizon? Reset to original Nandroid config and then call them? My T-Mobile cell no longer works either.....

    Thanks,
    Marc
     
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you activated your phone? *228 option 1?

    I know when my buddy ported his number from AT&T to Verizon, he had all sorts of problems, but it sounds like you just havent activated your phone yet.
     
  3. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I no longer have web service on my Droid either :(
     
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    So yes or no on reactivation?

    Also, you dont need to flash your phone back to stock just to call Verizon and get support over the phone.
     
  5. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please understand I ma a noobie so bear with me. Rooted phone was working fine this morning. So now you want me to dial *228 option 1 and activate assuming it will activate to my prior phone #?

    thx,
    Marc
     
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes. See what that does for you.
     
  7. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hang on.....back in a few....
     
  8. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are a genious. I am an idiot..

    Thank you,
    Marc
     
  9. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haha, no worries. If you ever have signal issues, dial *228, option 2 to update your tower information. Glad you got it working.

    My bet is that things got borked when your number expired/flipped/whatever.
     
  10. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Usually I am that guy"

    How prophetic, lol
    Thx again,
    Marc
     
Search tags for this page
android old number after porting
,
porting number to rooted phone
,
problems porting at t number from alaska to verizon wireless
,

problems porting cricket cell numbet to verizon