A question about Facebook and the RAZR

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Shaneathan, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just picked up my RAZR today because my Droid was no longer usable. I spent a few minutes searching for this topic but haven't found anything, so sorry if this was already talked about. I have the feeling I'll probably swap it out for the Nexus when it comes out, but I'm gonna give this one a shot. I'm kind of confused about a couple of differences involving Facebook.

    On the Droid, from the Facebook app I would hit settings and then choose the contacts I would sync. On the RAZR, there is no sync option. I then tried to go into the phone settings and there was no "Account and Sync" option like there was on the Droid. Am I missing something here?

    Thanks
     
  2. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, what happened to the News and Weather widget? The new News widget is not at all similar to it.
     
  3. Deron
    Offline

    Deron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    ??? In my settings menu there is an Accounts submenu. I don't sync my facebook contacts but that submenu is where you add accounts and do syncing for things like gmail and yahoo contacts.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, and I added my Facebook account to that. In the Droid, you press the menu button and it gives you the option to sync that particular account right then. However, my phone hasn't synced with Facebook even though the account has been added all day.
     
  5. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone? It's been days and not a single contact has synced.
     
  6. Deron
    Offline

    Deron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    I wonder if you need to enable some sort of permission for Android or Droid Razr on your Facebook account settings. Go to Facebook on a web browser using the full version of Facebook and look at your account settings.

    Also, do you have your sync for the phone turned off?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  7. Deron
    Offline

    Deron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    Another thought. Do you have your contacts filtered? Might it be hiding your Facebook contacts because it is only showing Google contacts or only contacts with phone numbers?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  8. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Contacts are filtered, but it was fine like that on my Droid. It automatically synced Facebook contacts with Gmail contacts with the same name. My phone's sync is on, but unlike the Droid, there's no "Accounts and Sync" menu. Just "Accounts." There's nothing in the Facebook full page settings that look off.
     
  9. beyondzero
    Offline

    beyondzero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was having a similar issue and was perplexed by the absence of the Accounts and Sync. This is either a Motorola skin thing or a change in this version of Android (probably the former). There is a Background Data option under the Data Manager menu item; be sure that is enabled. The original Sync setting still exists because I use Tasker and I was able to manually toggle it through Tasker. I had a Lo Batt Tasker profile configured to disable Sync and then when I charged I couldn't re-enable sync through the normal Android settings menus. Also the widget with stock Android that allowed to toggle the setting is blocked by Motorola too.

    I really wish the handset makers would stop putting these customizations on here, or at least allow us to remove them. Because of this I will probably return it for a Nexus, unless HTC crippled it with a skin too.
     
  10. Zandar
    Offline

    Zandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    The Nexus is made by Samsung at the direction of Google. There will be no skin on it.
     
  11. beyondzero
    Offline

    beyondzero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry...I meant Samsung....thanks. And that is good news about the absence of the skin. Now if only it were global ready (I heard the Nexus, like this Razr, is not global)...
     
  12. Zandar
    Offline

    Zandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    There's already a Galaxy Nexus GSM phone (which won't work on Verizon, obviously). The GNex looks great, but it's not going to be that much better than the RAZR. If Moto really does decrypt the bootloader for ICS, I'm betting the RAZR will actually be a better phone (though Nexus devices are always rad, so it'll probably be down to a matter of taste).
     
  13. JP 5.56
    Offline

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think you have to go download the actual Facebook app to get the sync. Whatever comes preloaded on the droid doesn't do it. Might be mistaken.
     
  14. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did. There was no Facebook app installed when I got my phone.
     
  15. jrmdroid
    Offline

    jrmdroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Ratings:
    +3
    I only got the accounts and sync to come if I disabled data sync, wifi, and left cell data enabled, if I opened the Android market I was prompt to enable or quit. When I selected enable I got the accounts and sync. I guess it is there but hidden with moto blur.....

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

can't like post on facebook motorola razr m

,

change facebook setting droid razr

,

does facebook work on droid razr

,

don't want to sync facebook with motorola razr 4.1.2

,

droid razr text goes to facebook page

,

facebook won't accept like on droid razr m

,

how do i change facebook settings on a droid razr

,

how to turn facebook contacts off on razr

,

howtoallowtaggingonrazorphoneinfacebook

,

no accounts and sync menu