A little help please....

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by Alex624, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. Alex624

    Alex624 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey everybody, im not sure if im posting his in the right place or not, but i have a small issue. i have a droid 1 that is rooted and currently running the project elite 2 rom. i have rom manager installed and it says that it is working properly. ive flashed roms before and its worked fine, but the past few times ive flashed roms, it installs through clockwork recovery and it says it was done properly, but when it reboots, all i see is a dos looking screen that says bootloader. any help would be greatly appreciated. feel free to email me at Mod Edit: Personal Information removed

    Thank you in advance.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2011
  2. chewy74

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    when you are restarting after install, are you sure you are not chosing restart to bootloader vs restart system?

    anyways, if thats not it then try to reflash clockword by flashing SPRecovery and then back to clockwork through ROM Manager.
     
  3. Alex624

    Alex624 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    re: a little help please

    when i use rom manager i download the rom and then wipe data and cache, then it goes into recovery mode and installs the rom and reboots to the new rom, but now it installs the rom and reboots to the bootloader screen. ive even tried a nandroid restore to a rom i had before and i still get the bootloader and i either have to plug it into the wall charger a bunch of times or i have to pull the battery and keep restarting it until it boots the project elite rom. oh also i tried to flash SPRecovery and then back to clockwork but when i try to flash SPRecovery it says "an error occured while flashing your recovery" but i can flash clockwork fine.
     
  4. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    your not plugged into your computer when you try to reboot are you? you could always try and download the zip to laptop and put on sdcard then install through recovery that way. try flashing the recoverys a few times then reboot then try again. never had luck with rom manager i only use it to name my backups.
     
  5. armopride07

    armopride07 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my two cents is to get rid of clockwork and rom manager. i had that and i even had the paid one and had a lot of trouble with it. i would suggest starting up from scratch. unrooting, then re-rooting but don't install rom manager or clockwork. leave it with SPRecovery. i haven't had any problems with it at all.
     
  6. Alex624

    Alex624 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im afraid if i un-root it, it will be stuck at the bootloader. is it possible to fix that if it happens? also, any of you can feel free to pm me. i have the droid forums app on my phone so ill still get the message if im not near my laptop. i apologize if i sound like a rookie, but lets face it. i am haha.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  7. Ruben181

    Ruben181 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always sbf with RSD for clean wipe, I have done it several times with my DX & D1 just be sure to use the right version of RSD that program is funny like that.

    Moto Droid
    GPA15 (4-16) Beta stock
     
  8. X_TAC23

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    And make sure to use the correct system version. For example if you are on 2.3.340 use that sbf.
     
  9. chewy74

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    Actually never had issues with clockwork or spr. One or the other will get finicky after flashing one to the other, but always settles.

    If the 2 don't work try flashing RZ recovery. It's based off of spr with a lot of feature enhancements. It's under raidzero's section.



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  10. Alex624

    Alex624 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried searching for SPRecovery on the market. is it via pc only?
     
  11. ukyfan

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    Ratings:
    +17
    +1 for RZ Recovery! One of the things I miss most about my D1. I have used all three (spr, cw, & rzr), and RZR is by far the best. I had a few issues trying to restore from CW which is why I moved over to RZR. Plus the thing is blazing fast!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. Alex624

    Alex624 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, i seem to have lost my unrooting instructions. could somebody please pm me a link or something? thanks
     
  13. chewy74

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    i dont think you need to unroot...thats a last resort. if you were able to flash ROM's prior to this happening, then its not a root issue. It sounds like its your recovery (clockwork) so try the RZRovery like i suggested

    Downloads


    Its also in a update.zip format so you can just flash it like a ROM and it will install the new recovery. then test it by flashing a ROM and see if that resolves your issue.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  14. armopride07

    armopride07 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea you can't download it off the market you gotta get it from the forums. usually when you root using RSD and your SBF it automatically comes up. i don't think you should worry about being stuck at the bootloader cuz re-rooting involves going to the bootloader anyways.

    WHOAH wait a second if i remember correctly through Rom Manager you can flash an alternate recovery right??
     
  15. armopride07

    armopride07 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    listen to Chewy hes got you