A good how-to for modifying the framework?

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by Matth3w, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I want to mess around with the app drawer and make a metamorph theme...sort of to do what Blackdroid does with his app drawer, but maybe do some other things with it.
  2. blukgt
    Offline

    blukgt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    I'm looking for the same thing
  3. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    It would be in the app folder under launcher2 iirc, it has nothing to do with the framework.apk

    you will need to edit the actual launcher2.apk /system/apps/launcher2.apk
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yeah this thread is old, I figured it out long ago. On another note though, do you know where the power widget thing is?
  5. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Settings.apk

    *Edit* /system/app/Settings.apk that is.
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Thanks.......
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Damn it, I'm trying to change the button on the widget from green to black. But it seems like it is in the button files in the framework, however....they are auto locked for some reason when I open them in photoshop
  8. HermitObserver
    Offline

    HermitObserver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happened the same here, I was forced to regress to Paint (which sucks.)
  9. HermitObserver
    Offline

    HermitObserver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I figured another way using PS. View the file in full screen, screenshot, open file with the same size, paste, crop the old picture out, and erase what "appears" to be invisible.
  10. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    yeah it's such a long way around the problem
  11. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could try gimp.
  12. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cant you go up top to image, mode, and then click on RGB.
    That might unlock you photo :)
  13. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Nope its grayed out
  14. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Eff. Im not sure
  15. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    do the following

    Image
    Mode
    RGB Color

    The problem is the file is in indexed mode.... change that with the above and your golden.
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010