A good how-to for modifying the framework?

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by Matth3w, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to mess around with the app drawer and make a metamorph theme...sort of to do what Blackdroid does with his app drawer, but maybe do some other things with it.
     
  2. blukgt

    blukgt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking for the same thing
     
  3. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would be in the app folder under launcher2 iirc, it has nothing to do with the framework.apk

    you will need to edit the actual launcher2.apk /system/apps/launcher2.apk
     
  4. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah this thread is old, I figured it out long ago. On another note though, do you know where the power widget thing is?
     
  5. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Settings.apk

    *Edit* /system/app/Settings.apk that is.
     
  6. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.......
     
  7. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn it, I'm trying to change the button on the widget from green to black. But it seems like it is in the button files in the framework, however....they are auto locked for some reason when I open them in photoshop
     
  8. HermitObserver

    HermitObserver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happened the same here, I was forced to regress to Paint (which sucks.)
     
  9. HermitObserver

    HermitObserver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I figured another way using PS. View the file in full screen, screenshot, open file with the same size, paste, crop the old picture out, and erase what "appears" to be invisible.
     
  10. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah it's such a long way around the problem
     
  11. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could try gimp.
     
  12. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant you go up top to image, mode, and then click on RGB.
    That might unlock you photo :)
     
  13. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope its grayed out
     
  14. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Eff. Im not sure
     
  15. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    do the following

    Image
    Mode
    RGB Color

    The problem is the file is in indexed mode.... change that with the above and your golden.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010