A Few Issues If You Don't Mind!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by xjeff99, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. xjeff99

    xjeff99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted this in Tech Support earlier today but got no responses. So I'm trying here:

    Hello! I just got the D3 yesterday coming from an OG Droid. Have a couple questions.

    -- How do I get the on-screen keyboard to hide automatically? Whenever I open up a text, website, calendar event, anything that has a text box on it while in the vertical (normal) direction, the virtual keyboard pops up, and I have to hit the back soft-key button to hide it. There was a way on the OG Droid to "auto-hide" or something on that nature the virtual keyboard until I specifically click into the text box. I can't seem to find that setting on the D3. Anyone?

    -- I've seen a few responses across the D3 forum about this but has anyone found out a solution - a way to change the lock screen silent - noise slider to a silent - vibrate only - noise slider? Or just a vibrate - noise slider? I never use silent, and switch from vibrate to noise depdning on if I'm at work or at home.

    -- I use Handcent for texting, and have put the handcent shortcut on the dock on the bottom of the stock Blur. Is there a way to put the handcent widget on there instead? Or at least something so I can see the amount of unread texts there, similar to how the handcent widget displays on the homescreen?

    -- I let the D3 drain last night until it was dead and actually turned off on it's own. I then plugged it into the wall charger to charge up but turned it back on as I was still configuring it to the way I wanted it. I charged it up to 100% by the AM and now with moderate usage around 5 hours later I'm around 30% (wifi off, bluetooth off, only 3G is on). Is this normal?

    -- The Location services thing - the 3 different settings. Can someone just please clarify this? All I use the location thing for is when i need Navigation or looking at traffic on the maps. Can someone tell me which one/two of these 3 I need turned on for that?

    -- One more - back to the lock screen. Are there any apps/widgets/settings that puts more information on the lock screen? I have Handcent set so the popup text comes in front of the lock screen which is very useful, but i would like to be able to see what the email is or at least who the email is from when I receive one, instead of unlocking it and then going into my email app or pulling down the notification bar. Any idea?

    Thanks in advance everyone!
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    This one I'm not sure of. I will have to explore my D1 for this setting.

    IIRC its a sad way of doing it, but you can select in the notification options of programs or settings on the phone in general to only vibrate in silent mode, that way it will vibrate for you when you change the lockscreen slider.
    I believe that Blur only can see how many unread the stock MMS app contains, and will not occur on other MMS programs, unless you install a third party launcher.

    I'm going to go out on a limb here and say no, as I've seen people getting over a day with the D3. If you let it sit all day without touching it, I don't think it would go down much. It all depends on usage.

    I always have the 3 things on, wireless, use networks and GPS. Wireless is that it remembers the locations of wifi networks you log into and can give an approx locale from that, networks is 3G tower connections, and GPS is, well...I hope you can figure that out!

    Widgetlocker is the most widely used and has the most options IMO.
     
  3. xjeff99

    xjeff99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you guidot very much for your responses. Much appreciative!
     
  4. xxspark89xx

    xxspark89xx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Answers are above with respect to the questions.
     
  5. Jeeper_Slick

    Jeeper_Slick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it doesnt hurt to pull the sim card out ?
     
  6. xxspark89xx

    xxspark89xx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, not unless you're overseas somewhere - then you'd just have no signal.
     
  7. Jeeper_Slick

    Jeeper_Slick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks friend !
     
  8. xjeff99

    xjeff99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does pulling the Sim Card out improve anything on the phone (as long as you stay stateside)? I already have the GSM radio turned off.
     
  9. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Swipe down on the virtual keyboard. Put your finger on the top letters and swipe down quickly will remove the onscreen keyboard.
     
  10. xjeff99

    xjeff99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I know that, but it shows up automatically every time. It seems to now show up whenever I use the virtual keyboard. Such as - if I use the virtual keyboard to send a text, the next time a textbox pops up the virtual keyboard automatically comes up. However, if I don't use the virtual keyboard (or back out of the keyboard/swipe it down / etc.) then it won't show up. Very odd, it must be a Gingerbread thing?
     
Search tags for this page

add handcent widget to dock

,

handcent auto hide keyboard

,
handcent auto hide keyboard setting
,
handcent create a shortcut to the privacy box
,

how to add handcent to dashboard

,
how to add widget to dashboard droid bionic
,
how to autohide handcent keyboard