A dead spot on my screen, does not sense touch anymore

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ctsv510, May 10, 2010.

  1. ctsv510
    Offline

    ctsv510 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yesterday I started having a problem pressing buttons on the screen and the scrolling was not working smoothly. I finally realized that the problem was a block of my Droid's screen that stopped responding to touch. It's a block right in the middle of the screen about 1/2 high and the length of the screen. It stays in the same spot when the screen is rotated. The weird thing is that it doesn't seem to happen on the home screen, but the problem exists in every app and menu.

    I tried a battery pull and it didn't help. I took it to verizon today and they looked at it and couldn't figure it out so they are shipping me a new phone. They said that they have never seen this before.

    Anyone else have this problem?
  2. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you/they try a factory reset?
  3. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as long as its not beat up call vzw for a "certified like new replacment" gotta love your warranty
  4. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
  5. ctsv510
    Offline

    ctsv510 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Neither I or they tried a factory reset. I guess they didn't think that would help.
  6. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    That's something you should try, you got nothing to lose.
  7. ctsv510
    Offline

    ctsv510 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I guess but they are already sending me another phone so I might as well send this one back not working. At this point I'll just take advantage of the warranty.

    I was curious to see of anyone else had the same issue.
  8. ctsv510
    Offline

    ctsv510 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A quick update - I received my new phone today so I cleared the data off the old one via a factory data reset. The problem still exists so that would not have been a solution to me.

    Also, I was hoping that saving the swype installer apk and program apk would let me install it on the new phone. Unfortunately, it doesn't work. :mad:
  9. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    I just googled this issue and found your thread. I have the same problem, in the same exact spot. After talking to a tech in store, I think it's the accelerometer. I wonder if could be related to kernels at all. Maybe oc'ing ruined my phone? I only OC at 800mhz. How about you? What speeds were you running?
  10. sbursik
    Offline

    sbursik New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issues here. Getting a replacement in the mail on Wednesday. I dont think that OC is the cause. Too many people complaining of the same issues.
  11. ctsv510
    Offline

    ctsv510 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone was 100% stock and the only non-market app I ever installed was swype. I doubt the over clocking had anything to do with this issue.
  12. Karunamon
    Offline

    Karunamon New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using a live wallpaper when this happens?
Search tags for this page

dead spot on htc one x

,

dead spot on phone screen

,

dead spot on touch screen phone

,

droid a855 dead spots

,
droid incredible touchscreen not responding on certain areas
,
fix touch screen dead spots
,

how to fix dead spots on android

,
how to fix dead spots on touch screen
,

how to fix touch screen dead spots

,

htc one x touch screen dead area

,

motorola blur touch screen not working

,

touch screen dead spot