a couple noobest of noob questions....please help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by nerdslogic, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I have a few questions here and I am hoping to get some help.

    1. What is the difference between the ROM, the KERNAL, and Root?
    2. I just rooted my D2, but I don't really know why....there are no ROM's out there and my phone doesn't seem any snappier....got any suggestions?
    3. I am interested in running Gingerbread but I can't find anything for it. I have been told that my wife's works because it is a D1...what is the major difference?
    4. How hard is it to go back to stock, if I need to send phone back to VZW, once rooted with custom ROM and KERNAL installed?
    5. Since rooting my D2 I installed Overclock and set profiles but I can't get it to overclock past the 1GHz mark...what am I doing wrong?
    6. Which is better, I have purchased both SETCPU and OVERCLOCK....but which is the one I should be using?
    7. I have heard you can't run both SETCPU and OVERCLOCK....is this true and why?
    8. Can I add a bigger SDCARD to my phone? I am running the 16GB that came with my OG Droid but it is almost full.....how large of an SDCARD can I use?

    Sorry for the noob questions but I am trying to understand all of this. I feel retarded mostly because I am a computer tech and have been for 15 years....but I feel this is more of a programming environment here.
     
    #1 nerdslogic, Feb 3, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
  2. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root gives you root access. The roms are the os, there are enough for the DROID2. I'm running liberty. You can always sbf back to stock in worst case scenarios. As far as overclocking use overclock, and setcpu together. After you set overclock, go into setcpu and tell it to autodetect the recommended speeds. I probably missed some of your questions but, I am on my phone and can't see the og post while I'm writing. I will check again when I get near a computer.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    So liberty runs on D2? I thought it was a D1 thing. So that means you are running Gingerbread....sort of anyway right?

    So do I set up profiles in overclock as well as SETCPU? Wont they conflict or do they have to be identical.

    I can't overclock my phone. The D2 is a 1GHZ and that is as high as overclock will let me take it.
     
  4. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was saying. You need to use both. Go to Droid Overclock, click set scaling frequencies. Choose your voltage and speed. Then go to setCPU and have it autodetect frequencies. Then you can set profiles up in setCPU.

    Yes liberty runs on droid 2. No, its not Gingerbread, it just looks kinda like it.
     
  5. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Awesome....thank you very much for your input.
     
  6. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I'm on a computer, I will try to answer these as best I can.

    1. Roms-OS, Root-the act of granting root access, Kernal-not my area
    2. There are plenty of roms, Apex, Squidly, Rubix, Gummyjar, Fission, Fusion, and Liberty just to name some of them.
    3. There are no true Gingerbread roms yet, and the D1's bootloader is not locked which may be why your wife's can.
    4. If you need to go to stock you can always sbf right back to stock like it came out of the box. Just do your research and its not a big deal.
    5. See previous
    6. Both
    7. No, its not true.
    8. Yes you can go up to 32g but I've heard some users have issues with it. Not sure though.
     
  7. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sweet thanks for the response. I don't suppose you know why my 3g wont kick back on when I disable WiFi do you?
     
  8. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure. I had that problem when I was on 2.2.2 but since 2.3.20 I haven't had the issue. I'll see what I can find out though.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    it kicked back on. I am assuming VZW was working on their network for a minute or so as my coworker was having the same issue with his D1
     
  10. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you got that worked out.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah.....now I just have to figure out how to backup ROM. I tried ROM manager but apparently it doesn't work on the D2. My buddy only knows how to do the ROM Manager way so we are stuck.
     
  12. devator22

    devator22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mid-West United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    The d2 can't run custom kernals, so you don't have to worry about that. Overclock has a custom setting where you can add whatever frequency and voltage you want. Make sure you understand what the voltage/frequency ratio should be before you do that though. And never check load on boot till you know it won't bootloop your phone.

    Sent from my brain, with the help of my Droid...