8 gigs of on board storage....the more I think about this....

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by tc3, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. tc3

    tc3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ******************* That is straight false advertising , I don't remember seeing anywhere about only the 2. Whatever being usuable. If u advertise 8 gigs of storage then all 8 should be mine to store whatever I want.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    I see nothing where it says the 8gb is for storage....

    HTC ThunderBolt
     
  3. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, first off any advertised internal storage amount will be less due to the OS and such, its that way on any device you buy, phones, mp3 players, computers, etc, etc.

    BUT.....

    With that being said.....advertising 8 and only leaving 2 is BULL.
     
  4. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Reread it again. It says 8gb with 756 RAM and 32 preinstalled SD card.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Thats all it says, It does not define what its for or how it's split up.
     
  6. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is true now...but initially the phone was advertised as having 8gb of internal storage memory.
     
  7. manilaboy1vic

    manilaboy1vic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +3

    i remember this as well.. if you had a D-INC, you were able to access the Internal Storage via a PC, you do not see this on the TB.
     
  8. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The rationalizing is ridiculous. The law requires common sense - that standards be used to allow consumers to make reasonable comparisons in the marketplace.

    So what's next? A 4TB hard drive that actually only provides 2TB of storage space but you're not told that the hardware only allows for 2TB (less formatting) to be accessible? Everyone knows what happened here. The only question needing to be answered is "so what are they going to do about it?"
     
  9. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe you should organize a class-action lawsuit.:icon_rolleyes:

    Geez, the things people come up with to complain about.
     
  10. funkyb

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    That or just return the phone... A class action is laughable. What actual damages are you trying to recover, and when VZW offers to let you return the device, what is your argument for being owed something more?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  11. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +106
    They don't define how they split it up!?!?!?

    WTF could POSSIBLY take up 5GB in storage right out of the box? Either there is an issue with the software where it is not showing the correct amount of storage, or they completely 100% falsely advertised this device.

    They are giving us less than half the advertised internal storage. Wouldn't be as much an issue if it were the microSD, but this is internal. We cannot change it.

    This is like Motorola advertising dual core for the Bionic, and once you open the box, you realize its only single. Nowhere did they advertise any kind of decrease in storage.
     
  12. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The internal storage is 8 gb, but to increase speed and reliability they formatted it kind of like a raid the way I understand it. This makes that 8 gb into around 4. I think there's around 2.5 available to the user.

    Honestly though, I'd rather have the speed and reliability than more storage I won't use. How could you possibly fill all that? I've got all my apps installed (none to SD) and still have 2 gb left! Either way, it came with a 32 gb sdcard! I'd be upset too if it was like an iPhone or palm with no sd, but if 32 isn't enough you don't need a phone...you need a laptop!


    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
meaning of 8 gb on board storage
,
on-board storage indicate
,
what does 32gb pre-installed 2gb onboard mean
,
what does 4 gig on board storage means
,
what does 8 gb on board storage mean
,

what does 8gb emmc mean

,
what does 8gb on-board storage memory
,
what does on board storage mean
,
what does on board storage mean?
,
what does on-board storage mean