6/25/2010 - BKAPPS/RSTAPPS Updated - Please Read

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. Tornado Rex

    Tornado Rex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can rip it from 4.2. It's in system\xbin\chevyno1\
     
  2. Branndon

    Branndon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ripped it, put it in the bkapps.zip, reinstalled it and the terminal still doesn't find it.

    Edit, user error, let me retry this.

    Ok got the program rstapps installed, but it says "Permission denied" When I run it as SU. Ideas? I'm trying this on a different rom if that matters.
     
    #38 Branndon, Jul 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  3. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    So when you run this command what do you get:

    ls -l /system/xbin/bkapps
     
  4. Branndon

    Branndon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get back
    -rwsr-sr-x root root 17156 2008-08-01 05:00 bkapps
     
  5. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    OK ... now run this:

    /system/xbin/bkapps

    What do you see then? And is busybox setup properly, ie, do you see these files:

    /system/bin/busybox
    /system/bin/[
     
  6. Branndon

    Branndon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK ... now run this:

    /system/xbin/bkapps

    What do you see then?

    I get instructions on how to use bkapps.




    And is busybox setup properly, ie, do you see these files:

    /system/bin/busybox
    /system/bin/[
    I see those files in x-bin not bin
     
  7. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    OK - so bkapps is running properly - I didn't notice you were trying to run rstapps on a different ROM - that part of the process is ONLY designed for SS at this time ... so you can back up apps from say BB, but can only restore into SS. I see this as a driver to use my ROM's, much as Pete has his toolbox to interface with the scripts - it's a bonus to using his ROM, much like rstapps is for mine.
     
  8. Branndon

    Branndon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh no problem. I run your kernels, but just flashed kangerade yesterday to try it. Sorry for all the trouble, I thought that might be part of the issue, that's why I stated it earlier. Sorry for waisting your time. Thanks for all your hard work!
     
  9. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    No worries - let me know if you have any other questions!
     
  10. Tornado Rex

    Tornado Rex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So a minor problem I ran into. I installed bkapps (from this topic) to BB 1.1 (an Eclaire-based ROM) and ran bkapps -c. Everything backed up perfectly. Then I installed SS 4.3 doing a full wipe and all that good stuff. I ran rstapps -c and everything restored fine. However, I get a notification saying it can't sign in to gtalk from my main account. I have gtalk hidden (though it did show up when gtalk wasn't hidden also). Not a big deal really just wanted to bring this up. Is it going from a 2.1 based ROM to a 2.2 based ROM that's the problem?
     
  11. MrC1122

    MrC1122 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    This may be a little off the wall, (a bit far-fetched even) and is not intended to insult or offend you or pete. I love the work that both of you do. IMO you guys are the best around and i would love to see you two collaborate on a ROM. With your "rstapps" and his "scripts", (and possibly a few other things thrown in from both of you) Man!...that would be the best thing since sliced bread! =} You guys could call it something like "Stunning Beast" or maybe "Simply Bugless"...I'm just saying =}

    Sorry for hyjacking the thread, I just had to get that out...carry on.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    #48 DatacomGuy, Jul 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010