[ROM] [6/18/12] CM9 ICS For the Droid Pro

Discussion in 'Droid Pro Development' started by JackpotClavin, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. ttrevorr

    ttrevorr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering if you had an update on when this ROM can be downloaded. While I would love JB (i am running it on my Gnexus - the pro is my wife's) I think any updates that you have will be greatly appreciated.
    Also, if you dont mind me asking what what is the status on the ROM (anything that doesnt work, etc.).


     
  2. mortimermax

    mortimermax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone have a link to the current build sources?

    JackpotClavin, any chance you could make a build, even if it's the same 6/18 that you currently have built, with the patches for pdroid at [CM9][PDroid][Apr08] ICS port of PDroid framework, CM9, P990 - xda-developers

    They built an autopatcher that should work for all cm9 roms, however i'm being told by the devs of the autopatcher that your rom is too different from others for their utility to work. They need either a patched zip or the sources to build themselves to they can compare the differences between the files and make the autopatcher work again.
     
  3. mortimermax

    mortimermax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    JackpotClavin, the developers of the tool autopatcher, which will patch pdroid and v6supercharger support into cm7/cm9/aokp roms, have asked me for a build source tree or a prepatched rom following the instructions at [CM9][PDroid][Apr08] ICS port of PDroid framework, CM9, P990 - xda-developers

    I am unable to get their utility to work, and thus not able to patch in pdriod support to your rom, which is important to me. Apparently your cm9 rom is different enough from source that the autopatcher utility will not work, but the devs are willing to help make it work with either the source or a prebuilt rom with the source patches in my second link. Any assistance, or if anyone else has a link to the build tree would be excellent.
     
    #543 mortimermax, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  4. JackpotClavin

    JackpotClavin Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not familiar with that kinda stuff :-( sorry. My github is here https://github.com/JackpotClavin
     
  5. mortimermax

    mortimermax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you, and sorry for the double post. I didn't realize my post went through the first time, refreshed page a few times and still didn't see it, so retyped.
     
  6. yuvcram

    yuvcram New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the CM9 rom for the Droid Pro a replacement of CM7? I was able to install it on my Droid Pro, but I use Swiftkey, and everytime the virtual keyboard also pops up. Is that an issue with Swiftkey or is there something can be done for Swiftkey to recognize the physical keyboard on CM9 (to clarify, my physical keyboard works fine but the virtual keyboard pops up and takes up half of the screen). Thank you so for your efforts in making the rom!
     
  7. baltfest

    baltfest New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jackpot does it... again!

    Oh Jackpot... I felt such loss when the Droid4 finally came out, I loved your dedication to the Droid Pro project and the results of your efforts. Nonetheless, I switched, I lost my unlimited data plan... but at least I upgraded, or so I thought. Ever since, I've been so unhappy. The slide out keyboard is nice, but like all sliders, clunky and large. I never typed as fast on any slide as on my Pro, never could get the hang of two handed touch typing like I could on my Pro and never could use the phone in a meaningful way one handed. The extra performance seemed nice but not at the expense of the fixed battery and how shocking to go to your latest CM9 build and feel my phone is more zippy than my recently wipped Dual Core 1.2 Ghz D4. Anyway, as I expected, my D4 slide finally broke... and Motorola's badly documented change in how it handles internal storage meant my SD Card backups were meaningless and I lost everything local I had on it... mostly photos, some videos and a few minor documents, mostly lists of things I needed to do... so annoying about my photos though, like 6 months of my life was ripped away by bad design and even more badly documented changes to how the new Droid4 filing system worked.

    So I went back to my trusty Droid Pro (I needed to keep it in case I travel worldwide anyway), dusted off my old CM9 install, updated to the latest, restored a few new apps with Titanium and have to say I couldn't be happier. Why oh why didn't ICS/CM9 make it to the DroidPro before the 4 arrived? I can't say I never would have purchased it, but it sure would have given me pause... 6 months later, it's a shame that going back to a phone almost 2 years old now is a more pleasurable and functional experience than my newer, faster phone. I paid for the accidental damage blah blah (though really, sliders coming apart are a manufacturing or design defect, not really a user fault issue, but I digress.) You've basically convinced me the Pro was a more serious phone for my use case and with ICS9, more relevant to me even today. I have everything I need and the few features I miss from the D4 I find are unnecessary wants... and even if I had them (like 4g or a higher resolution screen) am not sure they would truly improve the phone for what they cost in the way of battery, size, heat, etc. But you sure did improve my old Pro. CM9 in it's current state on my old Pro has a better native email app (I can FINALLY search Exchange messages), less bloat, longer battery (Droid4 vs. Droid Pro 3g to 3g), and I even got WiFi tether to work. I miss the 4g but not the battery drain... my 4g Sprint aircard can suffice for those brief moments I need the additional bandwidth; assuming I'm in an area that has it. The battery cost made it a largely useless feature anyway. Overall, you've taken my backup phone and turned it back into my primary. Anyone want a factory replaced D4 unlocked?

    Thank you again Jackpot Calvin for your work... if nothing changes, I have what I need, if you fix the last few niggling details all the better... but please, your contribution was an eye opening and fun surprise to come back to the Pro, like rediscovering an old friend and remembering why you had such a good connection in the first place. All my best.
     
  8. regedit

    regedit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Installed and calibrated. Seems to be working good so far.
     
  9. aiamuzz

    aiamuzz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has the issue relapsed ... hope its stable as before ...

    --- Sent from my DROID Pro ---
     
  10. JackpotClavin

    JackpotClavin Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the kind words :)

    I also made a new CM7 ROM for those not willing to make the jump to CM9 where pretty much EVERYTHING works, even that pesky bug where the settings didn't take effect till the phone was rebooted

    How much are you looking to get out of the D4?
     
    #550 JackpotClavin, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  11. regedit

    regedit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    The issue was rectified when I went back to GB. Reflashed to ICS and no sign of trouble here eiither. Must haave been some software issue. Then I installed battery calibration.

    Sent from my DROID Pro using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. itslels

    itslels New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    never mind.
     
    #552 itslels, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
Search tags for this page

cm9 droid pro

,

droid pro cm9

,

droid pro ics

,
droid pro ics rom
,

droid pro roms

,
ics droid pro
,
mb632 rom
,
motorola droid pro ics
,
motorola droid pro xt610 ics
,
xt610 cm9