[ROM] [6/18/12] CM9 ICS For the Droid Pro

Discussion in 'Droid Pro Development' started by JackpotClavin, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. JackpotClavin

    JackpotClavin Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I honestly don't know. I saw that spec sheet and the high-speed caught my eye, but I doubt the hardware is capable of it, and even if the hardware is capable of it, the libraries aren't made for the Pro, and even if they were, I don't know how we would connect to Verizon's network or anybody else's because I don't know much about 4G. Sorry :-(

    On a better note, I have the camera working, but not the panorama or the camcorder. It still has that issue with the first picture taken not saving. Annoying but at least all subsequent photos work perfectly, even the zoom. I kinda spoiled myself last week with CM7 because the Pro just isn't meant to run ICS with such an old kernel, but the performance isn't horrid compared to CM7. I'm gonna integrate a fix for the device's WiFi MAC address changing on each reboot, so it will stay the same (as long as you don't wipe data). I have the voice search button working too. Overall it's not terrible, just doesn't run as smoothly as CM7 :) I will post it in a few days after I test it out some more
     
  2. desterly

    desterly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    JP:

    not sure if you follow any of the other roms/distros but The "Unofficial CM" for the X/D2/D2WE over on rootzwiki has made significant progress including partial HWA.

    I just merged in the DPro files from Gummy (which is based off yours I believe) to that distro and it seems pretty stable. Thought it might save you a bit of time even if you wanted to see some of the changes made to it.
     
  3. JackpotClavin

    JackpotClavin Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep that's what I'm using as the base. Very stable
     
  4. Spectacle.Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Western Arkansas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downloaded your 6-6 CM7 last night to play with while you are working on CM9. Flashed the zip and Gapps. Goes through the Red M sequence and then the screen blanks and it hangs. I did wipe everything prior to flashing. Ended up reflashing the most current CM9 to get the phone working again. Any ideas?
     
  5. JackpotClavin

    JackpotClavin Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's really weird. You wiped everything including the system too? Perhaps it was a bad .zip that got downloaded that corrupted some stuff. Were you able to use the boot menu or did you have to sbf?
     
  6. fort13

    fort13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same thing with CM7. then formatted DATA and SYSTEM through the mounts and storage -> format system, format data. Now work fine :)
     
  7. desterly

    desterly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran into a few problems when I did it but TBH, I didn't spend a lot of time on it.

    Camera wouldn't connect
    Can't play MP3's

    I'm assuming that I needed to update a few seeings because of the omap integration. I'm sure this is all a no brainer for you though
     
  8. mortimermax

    mortimermax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    JackpotClavin, RE: ICS Speed on DP, have you heard about Linaro builds of CM9? I feel like 30% faster would be all we would need for a very usable ICS build for our DP, but I don't know how much work is involved in compiling with the different toolchain regarding modifications to the code.

    Android is about to get a lot faster thanks to Linaro - Liliputing
     
  9. mortimermax

    mortimermax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Spectacle.Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Western Arkansas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That fixed it. Wow, CM7 is much better than I remembered. Unless Jackpot makes some serious improvements in CM9 performance, I might have to stick with it.
     
  11. desterly

    desterly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    The CM9 team actually already has started looking at some of the patches however I haven't ran across anything that has been approved

    One thing that i will note though is the general notice on almost all the patches refers to "won't be compatible with all kernels" which leads me to think that these enhancements may (probably) won't work well w/ those of us with locked boot loaders/fixed kernels.. I'm sure some of the patches will be OK but we probably won't see the increase in performance if we were able to rebuild the kernel
     
  12. JackpotClavin

    JackpotClavin Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's the MAC address fix for your Pros running CM9. If you have had an issue connecting to wifi, it's probably because each time the device's wifi is restarted, a new MAC address is generated which will clog up your router as you can easily run out of IP addresses to lease to each and every new MAC address that's generated each time your device's wifi is restarted. The link can be downloaded here. The instructions are simple:

    1. Flash it in clockwork no need to wipe anything
    2. "Activate it" by going into the terminal emulator app, typing "su" (without the quotes) then typing "mac-address-fix.sh" (without the quotes). A bunch of weird symbols should come up, but that's normal.

    What this does is it auto-generates and writes your permanent MAC address to a file called called nvs_map.bin under /data/misc/wifi/nvs_map.bin. It will remain there and your MAC address will remain the same unless you wipe your /data whereas you will simply have to redo it

    Note: if you get an error message in the terminal after doing the fix, make sure your Wi-Fi is turned on and you're connected to a network

    For CM9, download --> CM9MAC.zip
     
    #372 JackpotClavin, Jun 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012
Search tags for this page

cm9 droid pro

,

droid pro cm9

,

droid pro ics

,
droid pro ics rom
,

droid pro roms

,
ics droid pro
,
mb632 rom
,
motorola droid pro ics
,
motorola droid pro xt610 ics
,
xt610 cm9