512 Ram

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by tomsyco, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. tomsyco

    tomsyco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm hearing this thing only has 512 ram. What a letdown... All the other specs look great.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. Raptor007

    Raptor007 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    While everyone wants more RAM, I can say the Charge I have w/ 512MB RAM works very well. its more of how well the device manages its memory.
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +728
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    We don't know how much ram the Droid 3 will have. Evidently the Chinese reviewed Milestone 3 has 512mb of ram, but that's the Milestone 3. We assume that the Droid 3 and the Milestone 3 will be essentially the same as the models have been in the past, but we don't know for sure. We'll just have to wait and see at this point.
     
  4. sudulgidy

    sudulgidy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should 512MB of RAM be a deal breaker? I have the original Droid and am running SS 4.5. It's running smooth! I like the slide out keyboard but also like what the Bionic offers. Long story short, should I hold out for the Bionic?
     
  5. destin246

    destin246 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im gettin the d3 Ive got to have a keyboard.

    Sent from my DROID 2 using DroidForums
     
  6. Card

    Card Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NorCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems odd that it's been about a year and a half since the original Droid came out (which is a pretty long length of time in the mobile phone market), and the 3rd iteration of Motorola's Droid series has the exact same amount of RAM as the 1st.

    And I know that the 512 RAM figure isn't set in stone for American markets. But if history has taught us anything, I think it is somewhat safe to assume that the hardware from the Milestone will be the same as what makes it to the Droid 3.
     
  7. Thisguy89

    Thisguy89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought the Droid 1 had 256?
    Either way, 512 in the Droid 3 is a little disappointing.

    Sent from my ZombieStomped Droid 2
     
  8. Card

    Card Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NorCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    My mistake, you are correct. The D1 had 512MB of onboard memory, and 256MB of RAM.

    However, I still think that if Motorola wanted to make this their flagship phone, they should have gone with 1GB of RAM, given that other phones on the market already contain this much.
     
  9. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +728
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    No one ever said Motorola was making this their flagship phone. That will soon be the Bionic on Verizon and the Photon on Sprint. A flagship device has to be cutting edge to be worth anything, as the original Droid, the Droid X, and the Atrix all were at the time of their release. The Droid 3, with specs similar to a number of phones out there...and especially with a lack of 4G...is clearly not intended to be their flagship phone.
     
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +728
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    Chances are, unless they up the ram, the Bionic's ram situation will be the same as the Atrix. Sure there's 1gb of ram in there, but only half of that is usable by the phone. The other half is for the Webtop software. So in effect, the Atrix really only has 512mb of ram when in use as a phone. The Bionic will more than likely be the same way. So while the 512mb in the Milestone 3 (and presumably in the Droid 3) might seem disappointing on the surface, it's not different in actual use than any of Motorola's other top phones.

    I'd love for the Droid 3 to drop with a 1gb of ram. But even if it does, it will probably be because of Webtop, and we'd be in the same situation as having 512mb of ram.
     
  11. Card

    Card Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NorCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm aware that Motorola has never stated that the Droid 3 would be their flagship phone. It has just always seemed that this has been how they've treated the Droid line of phones. They pushed the Droid, the Droid X, the Droid 2, and now the Droid X2 as "the next big thing" in mobile phones, and I see no reason why they would treat the D3 any different.

    I'm not saying the Droid 3 won't be a good phone, or that it won't be a very good release for Motorola and Verizon. I'm simply saying that given the specs for the Milestone 3 (and again I'll state, I know this isn't definitively what will be in the D3), this is really not a huge upgrade from what we've already seen in the D2 and what we've already seen in other phones already present in the market.
     
  12. Enter

    Enter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Bionic is the flagship since it was announced at the expo. The D3 is only 3G, with Verizon adding new markets everyday, by the time the Bionic comes out there will be plenty 4G coverage. It will also probably be ready and a test point to see how well their 4G can handle traffic because the iphone 5 with 4G is coming out next summer and they know that will take a huge toll on their network. I imagine they will announce tiered data shortly before the Bionic or after, maybe to get a little more in sales so they can test their network more accurately. No 3G phone will ever be a flagship again because nobody is talking about it anymore, you used to see commercials about 3G coverage and what not, now all you hear about is fast and 4G.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 ram extension