512 Ram

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by tomsyco, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. tomsyco
    Offline

    tomsyco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm hearing this thing only has 512 ram. What a letdown... All the other specs look great.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. Raptor007
    Offline

    Raptor007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    While everyone wants more RAM, I can say the Charge I have w/ 512MB RAM works very well. its more of how well the device manages its memory.
  3. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    We don't know how much ram the Droid 3 will have. Evidently the Chinese reviewed Milestone 3 has 512mb of ram, but that's the Milestone 3. We assume that the Droid 3 and the Milestone 3 will be essentially the same as the models have been in the past, but we don't know for sure. We'll just have to wait and see at this point.
  4. sudulgidy
    Offline

    sudulgidy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should 512MB of RAM be a deal breaker? I have the original Droid and am running SS 4.5. It's running smooth! I like the slide out keyboard but also like what the Bionic offers. Long story short, should I hold out for the Bionic?
  5. destin246
    Offline

    destin246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im gettin the d3 Ive got to have a keyboard.

    Sent from my DROID 2 using DroidForums
  6. Card
    Offline

    Card New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    It seems odd that it's been about a year and a half since the original Droid came out (which is a pretty long length of time in the mobile phone market), and the 3rd iteration of Motorola's Droid series has the exact same amount of RAM as the 1st.

    And I know that the 512 RAM figure isn't set in stone for American markets. But if history has taught us anything, I think it is somewhat safe to assume that the hardware from the Milestone will be the same as what makes it to the Droid 3.
  7. Thisguy89
    Offline

    Thisguy89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought the Droid 1 had 256?
    Either way, 512 in the Droid 3 is a little disappointing.

    Sent from my ZombieStomped Droid 2
  8. Card
    Offline

    Card New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    My mistake, you are correct. The D1 had 512MB of onboard memory, and 256MB of RAM.

    However, I still think that if Motorola wanted to make this their flagship phone, they should have gone with 1GB of RAM, given that other phones on the market already contain this much.
  9. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    No one ever said Motorola was making this their flagship phone. That will soon be the Bionic on Verizon and the Photon on Sprint. A flagship device has to be cutting edge to be worth anything, as the original Droid, the Droid X, and the Atrix all were at the time of their release. The Droid 3, with specs similar to a number of phones out there...and especially with a lack of 4G...is clearly not intended to be their flagship phone.
  10. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Chances are, unless they up the ram, the Bionic's ram situation will be the same as the Atrix. Sure there's 1gb of ram in there, but only half of that is usable by the phone. The other half is for the Webtop software. So in effect, the Atrix really only has 512mb of ram when in use as a phone. The Bionic will more than likely be the same way. So while the 512mb in the Milestone 3 (and presumably in the Droid 3) might seem disappointing on the surface, it's not different in actual use than any of Motorola's other top phones.

    I'd love for the Droid 3 to drop with a 1gb of ram. But even if it does, it will probably be because of Webtop, and we'd be in the same situation as having 512mb of ram.
  11. Card
    Offline

    Card New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    I'm aware that Motorola has never stated that the Droid 3 would be their flagship phone. It has just always seemed that this has been how they've treated the Droid line of phones. They pushed the Droid, the Droid X, the Droid 2, and now the Droid X2 as "the next big thing" in mobile phones, and I see no reason why they would treat the D3 any different.

    I'm not saying the Droid 3 won't be a good phone, or that it won't be a very good release for Motorola and Verizon. I'm simply saying that given the specs for the Milestone 3 (and again I'll state, I know this isn't definitively what will be in the D3), this is really not a huge upgrade from what we've already seen in the D2 and what we've already seen in other phones already present in the market.
  12. Enter
    Offline

    Enter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    The Bionic is the flagship since it was announced at the expo. The D3 is only 3G, with Verizon adding new markets everyday, by the time the Bionic comes out there will be plenty 4G coverage. It will also probably be ready and a test point to see how well their 4G can handle traffic because the iphone 5 with 4G is coming out next summer and they know that will take a huge toll on their network. I imagine they will announce tiered data shortly before the Bionic or after, maybe to get a little more in sales so they can test their network more accurately. No 3G phone will ever be a flagship again because nobody is talking about it anymore, you used to see commercials about 3G coverage and what not, now all you hear about is fast and 4G.
  13. Card
    Offline

    Card New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Except that it had been cancelled, then re-confirmed, then entirely re-spec'd, then...

    And the rumor now is July 7th will be the official roll-out date for Verizon's tiered data plans. Again, only rumor, but it's definitely a possibility.
  14. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Of course it's not a huge upgrade from other phones presently in the market. It's not intended to be. It doesn't bring anything new to the table, but it's still no slouch with current tech all around.

    As for not being much of an upgrade from the D2, I'll have to disagree:

    4" screen
    qHD resolution (sure it's pentile, but most folks really don't have an issue with it in everyday use)
    Dual core processor
    Vastly improved keyboard
    Vastly improved rear 8mp camera with 1080p video
    Front facing camera

    Yeah, that's a big jump from the Droid 2 in a lot of ways. It's a much larger jump that the D2 was from the D1. The only things holding it back from being at the cutting edge of current tech are the lack of 4G and - possibly - the ram. Besides those two things, everything in this phone is very current and a big step up from the Droid 2. There's actually not really anything else that could be added to it besides those two things to make it any more advanced when one looks at the tech that's currently available.

    It seems to me that a lot of people are just trying to talk themselves out of getting the Droid 3 by saying it's a disappointment or behind the curve. The fact of the matter is that it's very cutting edge for a 3G phone, and it's exactly what we've been expecting it to be for months. There are no surprises for anyone who's been following it. If person feels something is missing that they really want, then by all means that person should keep waiting for something else.

    The Droid 3 is shaping up to be a great phone for what it's intended to be.
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2011
  15. tonydelite
    Offline

    tonydelite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    the 512MB of ram doesnt really bother me. My Droid 1 has 256 and i'm doing just fine with that.

    Droid 3 looks like a sweet ass phone (except the pentile.. ugh. but i'll probably buy it anyway!)
  16. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    The thunderbolt has about 590 free out of the 768. In droid 3 about 400 will be free out of 512 if that is the true spec. 512 would not be too bad if the phone comes with gingerbread which is better than froyo in memory management. But blur will prolly hinder performance, so I think 512 is kind of low, but not too much of an issue. I personally want a phone with more ram myself, so I don't have to lessen my memory usage like I do now on fascinate.

    Sent from my fascinate
  17. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    512

    I have 512 on the G2x and ussually have 100-230 available. with no lag ever.
    but there is no blur or sense on it. the droid x2 has 512 and blur so llok through that thread and make you own opinions from there. i wanted more myself but have been happy with the 512 on the g2x. so i think it just really depends on how optimized the new blur is.
  18. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Just so u guys know, droid 3 is dual core

    Sent from my DROID2
  19. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Does dual core mean the extra core will pickup where ram falls short?

    Sent from my fascinate
  20. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    So why the crying about 512...just saying

    Sent from my DROID2
Search tags for this page

droid 3 ram extension