5.7.893 installed ?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by cbrmike, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what are those of us who have this 5.7.893 plan on doing if a fix is not in the works ?

    Move to a different phone with better data connection ,try getting the Bionic replaced with a referb or just deal with it ?
     
  2. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
  3. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    For now it's just a waiting game to see what happens. If nothing comes out, the link I posted is the only way I know to reverse what happened.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  5. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was offered a referb because I have a bad pixel but I have the 5.7.893 .
     
  6. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I see some people take a refurb then if it doesn't work out they take another one. Then if that one doesn't work out, they keep trying until they get a good one.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  7. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    But what about the leaked version on my phone, I would think they would see that and who knows what would happen.
     
  8. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I would wait a little while and see what happens. I took the leak myself, I am rooted but after looking at the problems members are having trying to get back on track, I'm not sure what to do. I still might try it after I get some rest, if your not rooted, I'm not sure if it would work anyway. Anyone have any suggestion?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  9. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone sent the phone back to VZW with 5.7.893 ? Any repercussions ?
     
  10. sgregory111

    sgregory111 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida/Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Returning from the dark side!

    If your good enough to do the cheescake thing and apply the leaked root, then following the instructions on this link to get back to OTA should not be a problem.

    Get to 5.5.893 OTA from ANY LEAK - RootzWiki

    Many people have posted success using this method. I have not done this yet but plan to. I am downloading the files and making sure I understand every step before I start.

    I am thrilled to see a path from 5.7.893 back to OTA.
     
  11. wilboy

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep,got mine working (5.893)to update path last night for 2 hrs...flashed radio and webtop too!!Now,am hunting for the best ROM.:)
     
  12. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to all who replied with this info, as I stated I am not rooted and know nothing about flashing and forever root and such. What is the best option for me ? Could someone PM me a walkthrough for dummies lol.
     
  13. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Do you want to root or would you rather stay on stock?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  14. cbrmike

    cbrmike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Ratings:
    +0


    Stock would be best for me, so I can not screw anything else up lol.
     
  15. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Yeah, I'm not sure but I think there is an option on the forever root hack that can restore your system without rooting but you would still have to do everything in the link I posted earlier. Anyone else have any ideas?


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk