5.5.893 root lost

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by MBxW, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. MBxW
    Offline

    MBxW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,
    I have a problem. When flashing to 5.5.893 from stock .883 I lost root and have yet to find a sucesfull way to obtain it again. Much thanks to any and all help in advance!

    Edit: I should add that pete's one click doesn't work nor does r3l3as3d or for3v3r root.
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011
  2. cthebadge38
    Offline

    cthebadge38 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the same thing and spent countless hours trying to get it back BUT I finally did it. These are the instructions I used and it worked perfect! file:///mnt/sdcard/download/9842-updated-893-ota-lost-root-then-found-my-way-again.html

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This root exploit by p3droid works on 893, unzip into a folder make sure USB Debugging is on under settings/development and your phone is on and plugged in via USB - then run the file
  4. MBxW
    Offline

    MBxW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much tp76, wotked wonderfully!
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2011
  5. skowalewski
    Offline

    skowalewski New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked like a charm thank you very much
  6. chedder72
    Offline

    chedder72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Siiiiiick...I had trouble sleeping last night, thanks tp76 and P3Droid!:icon_ banana:
    My question now is, how do we forever root so that we don't lose root again on the next OTA? the forever root tool isn't doing it for me.
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
  7. srleadjb
    Offline

    srleadjb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you say "run the file," how is that done, exactly please?
  8. chedder72
    Offline

    chedder72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    double click runme.bat
  9. srleadjb
    Offline

    srleadjb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it, thanks!
  10. parton1080
    Offline

    parton1080 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After I run this, can I go straight to installing a rom or do I need boot strap?
  11. jonsgirl
    Offline

    jonsgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure why this happened but I'll post my experience to maybe save someone some time. I was originally rooted. I went back to stock to take the OTA. Tried using this method this morning and although I showed SU permissions I was unable to get anything to allow SU access. I'm not sure which USB option I was in the first time but I completely reinstalled after doing a factory reset and made sure I was in mass storage mode and I'm now good to go.
  12. evolutionsentra
    Offline

    evolutionsentra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried rooting for the first time today before the update using the one touch root and was successful. Only problem I encounter every time I let the phone sleep and try to wake up with the power button the backlight doesn't come on. Same thing after using the new method mentioned in this thread for the .893 update. Backlight still will not work. Is this a known problem with a fix? If I unroot, backlight works just fine again. If I manually go into display settings and click on the backlight adjuster the screen turns back on. Any ideas?

    edit: After letting the phone sit for a bit, when I wake it, the light doesn't come on but as soon as I unlock it the backlight fires up. At at loss.
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
  13. j5tj@aol.com
    Offline

    j5tj@aol.com New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I use petes moto root tools to unroot this if I get into trouble?
  14. evolutionsentra
    Offline

    evolutionsentra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe so. Petes said my unroot was successful, but I still had the superuser icon. Just manually removed it.
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
  15. TrueKing
    Offline

    TrueKing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I lost root, and tried to manually unstall su. It wouldn't let me, only unstall updates
  16. Gelzyme
    Offline

    Gelzyme New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Thank you, TP76! It worked like a charm!
  17. demnogis
    Offline

    demnogis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you, that got me root on my 5.5.893 Bionic. Rock on.

    ~D
Search tags for this page

root ota 5.5.893