5.4 with V6 supercharger?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Art Vandelay, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. Art Vandelay

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anyone using these together? There was a thread for it being used with 5.3, but I haven't seen any info on it with 5.4. I haven't run scripts and it seems very technical, but I'd like to know anyone who has seen a benefit to using this script and what are settings are.

    I'm on SS 5.4 with Chevy's ulv .9Ghz kernal and I am verily happy with the performance, but anything to make it better (without decreasing battery life) would be good to try.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was curious about this also. Just wanted to chime in and give the thread a boost.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    I'm running 5.4 supercharged...the script does effect battery life in any negative way but it makes the whole rom run blindingly fast and smooth

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. Art Vandelay

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Negatively affects battery, that's a bummer. How hard is removing it? I still may give it a try.

    My battery life is terrible, any tips or apps? Ive done battery calibration and always flash with 100%. I think I really need a new battery.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I think he meant doesn't and not does but I might be wrong.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. Art Vandelay

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah I think you are right, I'm going to give it a try. Any suggestions for setting it up, besides the installation instructions?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Ok, so you do know how to install? There are 3 balanced settings, 3 aggressive settings, a game setting, a multi-tasking, and a few more. I would either try a balanced setting starting out or a mult-tasking setting, but it all depends on what works for you.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. Art Vandelay

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I think I know how to install, I'm pretty good at following directions and the how to seems pretty good. Just one thing, does SS come with busy box? Or do I need to dl it from market?

    Thanks.

    Ok, so you do know how to install? There are 3 balanced settings, 3 aggressive settings, a game setting, a multi-tasking, and a few more. I would either try a balanced setting starting out or a mult-tasking setting, but it all depends on what works for you.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums[/QUOTE]



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Busybox included

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  10. islandfever

    islandfever New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do we uncheck memory home lock in CM settings? Mine is not selectable....using Launcher Pro Plus/SS 5.4
     
  11. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Read my posts in the main ss 5.4 thread

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  12. islandfever

    islandfever New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1
    removed it....although I didnt have to change permissions to remove it...rebooted and it still wont let me unselect it?

    I looked in build.prop and line is no longer there...but still..


    This part also in the sticky is confusing me:



    Here's how you can have a Bulletproof Launcher!

    The line "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" in /data/local.prop also keeps home in memory - it has the same effect as CM's "Lock Home In Memory".
    So in light of what I was seeing in AMM, I have changed it to 0 so it now reads:
    ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=0
    (blank line)

    Note: If there isn't a blank line at the end, the ro.HOME_APP_ADJ entry gets deleted.

    If you do this and reboot, AMM may still show that android.process.acore (or whereever your launcher is) with a priority of 1
    If that's the case, disabled CM's setting to lock home in memory.
    Now, if you go back to AMM, you should see that android.process.acore is now a foreground app with a priority of 0... BOOYA!

    Notes: Obviously, CM's "Lock Home In Memory" overrides the setting in local.prop.
    .......... CM will set the priority back to 1 after local.prop gives a priority of 0.
    .......... That's why CM's setting has to be disabled - so that the local.prop setting will "stick"
    .......... Gaming Tip - You can use CM's lock home in memory as a "Safety Lock" - to toggle your launcher from Bulletproof (0) to Killable (1)
    ............................. If having problems with a game, put the "Safety Lock" on so the launcher is "killable" so android can free up some extra ram.

    Note that BulletProofing is NO LONGER RECOMMENDED! The Hard To Kill Launcher is the PERFECT SOLUTION!
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2011
  13. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Make sure keep in memory is unchecked in launcher pro general settings

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  14. Art Vandelay

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok I installed it, but I'm a noob when it comes to removing lines of code. How do I remove this command to get rid of lock home in mem? Do I use terminal emulator (never used it before)?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  15. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    You can use root explorer, but make sure to change permissions before editing and back to the way they were before you edited, then reboot

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

v6 supercharger s3