5.0.2 reboots after Maps runs for about 10 minutes.

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by ss13, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. ss13

    ss13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just want to know if anyone else has this symptom. I am going to try down-clocking the CPU to 800 and see if makes a difference on my drive home today.

    I put my D1 on my dash, plugged into the car charger, Car Mode ON, running Maps/Navigation. No turn by turn, just watching the road in traffic view.
     
  2. Zepius

    Zepius Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    its probably getting hot. what was the cpu at previously?
     
  3. ss13

    ss13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stock ROM is set at 1100 MHz, that's why I figure I would try a slower speed today. Same thinking about overheating.
     
  4. rabbitfoot

    rabbitfoot Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nYc
    Ratings:
    +2
    i've had this happen to me on a few roms-- it's beyond annoying because usually you're on the road when it happens and you don't know where you're going.

    whenever this happens, and for me it's never a temperature issue, i do a battery pull, clear the cache, then reboot her. i've done this on several roms and it's worked for me on long road trips (i've always got her clocked to 1GHZ+, but running around 600MHz when she's plugged into a charger so clock speed hasn't been the issue for me).

    i hope that helps.

    best,
    rf
     
  5. ss13

    ss13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    800MHz drive home yesterday took me all the way without reboot. I was on the phone for most of it, but the last 20 minutes or so was all Maps, and no reboot.
     
  6. chained22

    chained22 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    tiffin, oh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have problems keeping my browser open, It just closes on its own on many different pages, and it wont let me use any other browser beside the stock one and which I stated is having problems, this all since I loaded v5.0.2

    sent using my finger on my touchscreen on my Droid 1
     
  7. ss13

    ss13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think it is the speed or heat anymore. This morning after turning on the GPS and Maps, the phone stuck on "looking for gps..." for about 3 minutes then rebooted.
     
  8. EFGantry

    EFGantry Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have been having this issue, too. it doesn't matter which browser i use (stock, xscope, opera), and i have tried different kernels, as well. i can't tell if maybe it's an issue with the memory/task killer, but it happens even if i run the various memory scripts. i'm not sure what to try next...
     
  9. jpin321

    jpin321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have u tried running other kernels from different devs?

    Chevyno1 kernels run nice under pe.

    Ill see if I can find a link and post it. the 1.1 ulv runs fast and cool on my phone. Might not on yours everyone can't run the ultra low voltages.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. jpin321

    jpin321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. EFGantry

    EFGantry Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    i've tried RZ kernels, Pete's kernels, and Chevy's kernels (even the new ones), and the result is the same. thanks for the help, tho. :)
     
  12. jpin321

    jpin321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe u have a bad flash. Have you tried reflashing you rom?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App