4G?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by phil1166, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. phil1166
    Offline

    phil1166 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had my phone (Droid Razr Maxx) activated yesterday and I had 4G all day yesterday and now it's been in 3G. I went to settings and put the phone from Global (it was in Global when it was first activated) to LTE/CDMA and still no 4G. What gives? Is it the phone? Is Verizon's 4G down? Any suggestions?
     
  2. Irontyke
    Offline

    Irontyke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed service jumped back and forth between the two when 4G was first introduced to the area. It settled down before too long. I think I read somewhere not to use global mode unless you have to, so it doesn't keep scanning signals.
     
  3. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Don't keep your phone in Global, it drain battery faster, you should leave the Network setting to LTE/CDMA unless you are traveling outside the U.S. It is normal for the phone to switch between 3g and 4g depending on the signal strength and your location.
     
  4. phil1166
    Offline

    phil1166 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's not in Global anymore. It was when i activated it. I live in Philadelphia. I know we have 4G here
     
  5. JazzyDroid4
    Offline

    JazzyDroid4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just had that same problem, reboot the phone and see if that helps, it helped me.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Forum Runner
     
  6. phil1166
    Offline

    phil1166 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, i did that. I wonder if i have a faulty device. I love everything about this phone but i should be getting a 4g signal
     
  7. drivinfocused
    Offline

    drivinfocused Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Niagra of the West(Twin Falls, Idaho)
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm still getting a lot of signal drops.
     
  8. philmanji
    Offline

    philmanji New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    I had that issue. Take it to verizon to make sure its not the sim card. If it is then problem solved. If it's not then they can switch out the phone for you. Good luck.
     
  9. drunkclever
    Offline

    drunkclever Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    When I got my Max a long time ago... I experienced a lot of that stuff. I went into settings and manually changed the setting off of global. I still experience random drops in service. My area is high lighted in the lte coverage zone. You have to account for all the other random "stuff". Apparently when I head up north service with lte becomes spotty. Even in a highlighted zone. I thing its either the programming on the phone or the radio. You call Verizon all you want. In the end it depends if your getting good reception. In my case its just that... spotty coverage BASED on my topographical location. As soon as I save enough cash you can bet your ass I am leaving. Regardless of anything. I need a phone that does not have to drop the signal completely to change from 3g to lte and vise versa.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. phil1166
    Offline

    phil1166 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, i know a few that have thus phone and they are all getting 4G signals
     
  11. drivinfocused
    Offline

    drivinfocused Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Niagra of the West(Twin Falls, Idaho)
    Ratings:
    +3
    its not just 4g. I will drop service out completely. never had an issue before
     
  12. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Have you tried turning off the phone..popping out the SIM card and putting it back in? The other thing is, you said you just got the phone. Uninstall the apps you just downloaded and see if it is one of them. Slowly add apps one @ a time to see if the issue starts again. I've had my phone since Feb. I've had download speeds of up to 20mbs..now I'm lucky to get 6. I also do get dropped 4G. Other days it will be fine. This is around my house. Today I was on 3G for about 10 mins before getting 4G back. If none of this work, see if it is actually the SIM card.
     
  13. phil1166
    Offline

    phil1166 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1

    If you're talking to me, yeah I turned off phone and popped out the sim card and turned it back on and I'm still in 3g but I will try the other idea of uninstalling the apps
     
  14. Irontyke
    Offline

    Irontyke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 4G signal is not as strong as 3G, and this can be a problem in some buildings. In NY where buildings have a lot of steel reinforcement it does present problems, I have heard. Depending on your "inside" conditions, this might not be a phone problem, just the nature of the signal.
     
  15. Knightrider03m
    Offline

    Knightrider03m Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know that I work in a major city that has 4G however in the basement of my office, I drop down to 3G
     
Similar Threads
  1. jimisbell
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,012
  2. loonie01
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,206
  3. fnourse
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    876
  4. Meltman
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,079
  5. Y00jose
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,372
Loading...
Search tags for this page

droid razr maxx drops 4g

,

droid razr maxx no 3g or 4g

,

razr maxx dropping 4g